You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Van Der Graaf Generator - Pawn Hearts [Review and analysis]

in #music6 years ago

I have never listened to Van Der Graaf Generator, actually I've heard the name of the band but never listened to them. I had the idea that was a "rare" band making "rare" music what un some way you confirm un this post. I've listened to some of King Crimson albums and it's not easy music for me, but after your execellent post I want to give a chance to "Pawn Hearts". I need to find the moment!
Can we consider them precursors of progressive rock? Any connection with the Canterbury scene and psychedelia?
Thanks a lot for your effort in this post!

Sort:  

King Crimson is great, in a month's time, on June 16th I'll be at their concert in Cracow, it's one of the few bands that sounds so good despite their age :D Here's the curiosity, I didn't write it in the post, but on the album "Pawn Hearts" the guitarist plays - Robert Fripp from King Crimson, a good friend of the band, who also played on their previous album :D

I'm looking forward to the concert. In case of Van Der Graafs As I suggested gently in this post, at the beginning I recommend "H To He, Who Am The Only One", because this album is easier, and almost as good.

Van Der Graaf Generator definitely deserves to be called the pioneers of the genre, they have pushed the boundaries of what progressive rock is.

I'll write something about the Canerbury Stage, especially that I already have a few Polish texts, which I only need to translate :) I'll try to prepare a long entry about Henry Cow, for example, which I'm currently working on. The first part of the series about this group can be found on my account in Polish :)

Thanks for your vote, thanks for a positive comment, I am glad that someone is interested in the things I am writing about :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56