Just a Little Light - an Original Song

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 9.03.54 PM.jpg

Just a little light featuring Annabel Michael and Kai Chalmers

The vulnerable musician

It was a really spontaneous night when my closest friends and I were having a random dinner brought together by a compilation of decisions. One of those days where one decision leads to the other and somehow things fall into place.

I can't put into words how I was feeling that night. We were full and huddled up towards the warmer side of the house and drinking our milkteas.

There's this feeling when you're comfortable in the figurative arms of people you trust and conversation happens.

IMG_0111 copy.jpg
Kai Chalmers from The Ola Bola Musical

As a Musician there are times of doubt

Okay, please allow me to correct myself. It's not just Musicians, I know. There are probably millions of people in our position in which we believe someday we'll have our moments that will eventually define our legacy. Just a little time in the light. Although for the musicians who are devoted to their art, we do what is right. We make the connections, practice the hours until our fingers bleed, we write and we give our hearts to all audiences.

We want to play music and not involve ourselves with the business side of things. It congests our minds and takes away from the art most of the time.

We believe in each other, push each other to get to where we want to be. We just want to play music.

Most of the time, the world doesn't see that. It's caused by a lack of support, it's just plainly due to how good entertainment is. It really is.

People binge watch series, pay hundreds for a musical and spend so much time on Youtube that they lose track of time. Entertainment is dominating right now because it is just too good.

Vulnerability

There are very little times when seasoned musicians break down walls and reveal how they really feel. Sometimes nice surprises come to life.

We were sitting and having a conversation about how just a little time in the light would be enough for us. I listened closely and had so many questions pop up in my head. Questions that I will share with you now that will probably never be heard in any interview.

  1. Can I be selfish for just a moment? I'd like a little, just a little bit of your time to spare.
  2. Is it too selfish to ask you for your time?
  3. If I break down my walls and show you how I'm feeling, will I be judged?
  4. Do I really care about being judged?
  5. My fans love me for who I am, but would they still if I took away the lights and the glamour?

081017 - AM13 V101.jpg
Annabel Michael from Gol and Gincu 2

10 Minutes of Focus

My best songs were written in minutes. Never Enough Adrenaline and the last one awake. Collectively they would have only taken 20 minutes to write. I credit this ability to vulnerability, focus and love for what we do.

I had all these questions in my mind and we were cleaning up the mess from dinner. I sat down to listen to what my friend had to say, I took out my journal and started writing.

Within ten minutes I had finished the arrangement and lyrics to the song you're about to hear.

It's a song from the honest hearts of a songwriter brought to life by the voices of musicians that just want a little light. Here's what I wrote:

Verse 1

It is quiet in the night,
patient for a shed of light,
For I've waited for my time to come,
spare me a little light,

I beseech your for a way,
cause I've waited for you night and day,
through the waves, I've waited for,
Calm in the Hurricane.

Chorus

*Let me be selfish,
for a moment,
I can't help it,
I am frozen,
Cause I've been waiting for my time to shine,
Just a little light. *

Verse 2

It is tired in the dark,
it is harder just to give it up,
everyone I knew had gone,
farther than I thought,

Maybe just a little brave,
just a little make or break,
Here I pray for a little hope,
That I'm not too late,

Chorus

Let me be selfish,
for a moment,
I can't help it,
I am frozen,
Cause I've been waiting for my time to shine,
Just a little light.

Click the following image for the Video

Screen Shot 2018-03-28 at 9.20.00 PM.png

What happened after

After recording the performance, we realized something quite beautiful. The feelings of selfishness and pain that we were going through were far from mind.

Music allows you to feel things you usually wouldn't let yourself think about. It allows you to feel it, experience it and let it go.

We chose to let it go.

IMG_0191.jpg

Sort:  

very inspirational ! love the harmonies ... cheers man

Congratulations @cbppls! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I can feel the vulnerability .. great job guys

so good! :O

Congratulations @cbppls! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72