I will hold your hand (UNIQUE - Midnight Sky - Cover)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Ok, it's been so long since I've done a cover so I figured, I should make my comeback decent haha!

So, here's a cover of UNIQUE's Midnight Sky. I love how this song's simplicity leaves me in awe. If you compare this to the other songs in UNIQUE's album, the technicalities of this song are pretty basic. But, really, I wouldn't have it any other way. Stripped-down songs are such a gem, and I'm glad UNIQUE chose to include this in his album.


Unique Salonga (UNIQUE) is one of the Filipino artists who started making waves in the local independent scene with his former band IV OF SPADES (IVOS). Individually, Unique (rhythm), Zild (bass), Blaster (lead), and Badjao (drums) are brilliant skills-wise. Together, they are even more exceptional, especially because these guys are so young compared to their contemporaries! This is probably why people have been referring to IVOS as one of the "saviors" of Original Pinoy Music (OPM) because of how they have been reinventing OPM, from boldly crossing genres to reintroducing eclectic fashion. Both fans and non-fans alike were convinced that the future of OPM is bright and IVOS is at the frontline of this new wave in OPM.

However, come May 2018 (just a few months after IVOS released Mundo, their most popular song), UNIQUE has decided to leave the band to pursue a solo career. This news has left a lot of IVOS fans broken. A lot of rumors sprung up, but I guess, moving forward, this is what people were interested in the most: the survival of IVOS and Unique.

Fast forward to today, UNIQUE has released Grandma, his first solo album (WHICH. IS. ALL. KINDS. OF. AWESOME.) just finished his first-ever concert successfully last September. IV OF SPADES just released a new song 6 days ago and will be releasing their first album this 2019. The future is bright for these young ones, and I couldn't be more proud!

Honestly, I wasn't as devastated when I learned about UNIQUE choosing to go solo. I was sad, because I imagined all four of them staying together as IVOS. I don't know the entire story of why UNIQUE left, but, I firmly believe in what Unique, Zild, Blaster, and Badjao can do individually. I wasn't worried, because I know that whatever they choose to do, they will be do it very much brilliantly. I keep saying this, but let me say this again for emphasis, THE FUTURE IS BRIGHT, what with IVOS and UNIQUE unleashing their creativity for the whole world to appreciate.

IV OF SPADES and UNIQUE are two of the reasons why I am proud to be a Filipino.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Congratulations @charlocked! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60719.63
ETH 2911.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59