Oh, it's Saturday night!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181020_203320.jpg
It's been a month since Panic! At the Disco visited the Philippines for their Pray for the Wicked Tour but even today, I am still obsessing over their Live in Manila concert setlist. I have been a fan since Panic!'s early days, but it was only my first time to see them live last Oct 20th. This was such an awesome and unforgettable experience for me, so let me share this with you.

IV of Spades as front act

Capture+_2018-11-22-17-36-28-1.png
(Image Source: Panic! at the Disco's Instagram)

IV of Spades is a Filipino band composed of very young and very talented musicians who have redefined OPM with their unique sounds and with matching out-of-this-world outfits. I cannot even begin to describe my excitement when I found out that they will be opening for Panic! At the Disco. They’re a real product of the local indie scene, and to see them opening for one the biggest artists in the world, in one of the largest arenas in the Philippines, makes me so proud of these young men. Some of my friends didn’t really know IVOS prior to the concert. But after hearing IVOS live, my friends became fans instantly! From such humble beginnings, IVOS left a statement in the 30 minutes that they were on stage, they exist and they are here to stay. IVOS also scored a meet-and-greet with Brendon Urie, as seen in Panic!’s IG. What a dream come true for these young men!

Watching from the Patron side


Friend 1: (to me) Here you go. Here’s your ticket.
Me: Thank you. (opens the envelope). Wait, this isn’t my ticket. I only paid for the Lower box ticket.
Friends: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!

20181020_201307.jpg

So there, in the middle of a busy street near the Mall of Asia Arena, I was crying my eyes out because my friends are the best people in the world!!!

It was my first time to watch from the Patron side and I can say that I have less use for my camera’s zoom capabilities since I could see the band quite clearly from this distance. It’s just really sad because you could see nothing but a sea of screens in the VIP side. The people in the VIP area should be partying so hard because they get to be so close to the band. But, because every person has their own reason why they’d want to film the experience, so, to each his/her own, I guess.

The band's showmanship


I cannot even begin to describe accurately how awestruck and thankful I am of Panic! At the Disco’s current members on tour. The strings, the woodwinds, Dan (on drums), Mike (on electric guitar), the beautiful Nicole (on bass), and, of course, Brendon! All of them fit quite perfectly in the lineup. I couldn’t be prouder! The people behind the lights, the transition stems, the fireworks deserve some shoutout too! I am so proud of this tour!!! Everyone brought their A-game, and the audience definitely noticed!!!!

IMG_20181020_220452.jpg

My favorite parts were Bohemian Rhapsody (that was crazzyyyyyyy!!!!), This is Gospel (especially those last few mins of glorious instrumental and solid jamming), and Can’t make you love me/Dying in LA (that smooth transition!).

Highschool jam with my high school fam


I’ve always disliked crowds and I’ve always made sure to avoid them, so being in a concert, no matter how much I love music, is no exception. However, when you’re doing something out of your comfort zone (e.g. venturing into a crowded place), surviving and thriving are easier when you have your people with you. Like I said, I’ve liked Panic! At The Disco for more than 10 years now, and Panic! pretty much defined my high school life. I am glad to be able to share this awesome moment with my high school friends. I love listening to my favorite artists, but to be listening to them with the people I love, makes the experience a hundred times better. Panic! At the Disco has always been a mainstay in my playlists since high school! But to be able to share this moment with my beloved mainstays? Definitely one of the best (OOOHHH it's) Saturday nights of my life!!!!!!

Sort:  

yay! what a sweet surprise from your friends 💛

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55