The day Steven (and Jayne) changed my life. (Steemitbloggers Contest)

in #music5 years ago

maxresdefault (1).jpg

Musical theatre? Nah! Not for me. I’ve always found it to be a little sickly sweet and pretentious. Not that I ever ventured out to experience it, which shows a little of my ignorance and stubbornness when I was younger. I didn't see the point in it but, of course, kicking a pig's bladder around every day and scoring a ‘goal’ meant everything to me.

Then Jayne came along and opened my eyes to different experiences that I just didn’t have growing up like Shakespeare, ballet, classical music etc. Suddenly I was finding value in these things but not musical theatre! Never musical theatre.

One day; while I was, probably, playing Championship manager (a football management sim) upstairs, out of the way while Jayne was watching television in the living room downstairs, I heard a voice on the show that Jayne was watching. The range of the voice was so inhumanly large that I could not place if it was a man or a woman. It was unlike anything I had ever heard before. I went down to investigate.

It was musical theatre, and a man who looked like Jesus Christ was stood on stage with tears in his eyes and giving the performance of his life. I was captivated and a little stunned at the effect that it was having on me. The man was Steven Balsamo and he was giving an emotional and vocal performance that I had never thought possible until that moment. The production was Jesus Christ Superstar the rock opera from Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice and the song was Gethsemane.

I have since been to watch musical theatre and especially Jesus Christ Superstar a few of times and, although still cautious, have been won over by that experience. Jayne has been lucky enough to have witnessed Steven in the show twice whereas I was too late, which is a regret, but the shows that I have witnessed were inspiring still.

Jayne has opened my eyes top a lot of experiences in my life and this was certainly one of the more prominent ones. I thank her for all of them.

So here it is. You have two versions of Gethsemane to choose from. The first is a very emotional live version from 2004. The second is the studio version which was made in 96. Steven was only 25 during the studio session and was at his full range.

For JCS fans they know what’s coming but if you never ever saw Steven or the show then sit back and enjoy.

I hope you are as inspired as I was.

Live version 2004

Studio Version 1996

Thanks for listening.

Gaz

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Loved ballet, full orchestra playing, live shows back in the day. Alas have not been to one in some time thanks for sharing @cheese4ead

#steemitbloggers

We get some decent productions in Bucharest. We've yet to try them but it's on the list.

That's awesome to have a person in your life to be able to open you up to new experiences, especially to such a joyful one! I find that even in genres of music that I may not listen to often, I am still always moved by such pure talent. His voice is nothing short of stunning. I had never heard this, so thanks for sharing!

He is pretty amazing isn't he.

You're welcome.

Wooow hes is good gaz, janey was right puttin it on. Here in the Netherlands we have the passion an open air musical and Our “jesus “ doesnt match yours, great entry!

Thanks @brittandjosie

Steven is good isn't he. I think that clip was in the Netherlands.

I think so ... that Made it even better 😂

So glad you are opening to new experiences! That is what makes life so truly remarkable and fascinating! 😊

So true. There's a whole new world out there! 😁

Haha I could totally relate the the whole story you told here. I never got in to Championship Manager, more of a Pro Evo player with my uni mates but then got in to a relationship with a girl who was heavy in to her musicals and I was like "Alright, let's see what this nonsense is about"... went to see a few and opened my mind up to theatre and can totally see why people do love it - fantastic spectacles and powerful performances that really go right through you.

Never actually saw JCS but have heard a song or two from it, not this one though and have to say, this was an epic choice and totally see how it changed your life. Thanks for the entry to the steemitbloggers contest :)

Thanks for commenting and upvoting and judging the competition @nickyhavey

I always chose Fifa over PES but fans of PES stick by it religiously. Not that I play Fifa that much either. There was always something about championship manager that just nailed my addictive nature. I little squirreled away my 20's in our spare room where the pc was.

I'm a bit of a rock fan so a rock opera or a musical with a bit of grunt was always going to be my way in. JCS is awesome so it's well worth catching if you get the chance.

You're most welcome!

Haha I didn't continue with PES or any football games really once I finished my undergraduate days. Couldn't get my head around Champ Man but my friends were very proud they got Wycombe Wanderers winning the quadruple in consecutive seasons within 8 seasons Haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

😁

Now that's impressive!

Their board of directors didn't think so though and got sacked the 2 seasons later as the glory days had gone! 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94