3 Best Tips For Beginner Musicians

in #music5 years ago

In middle school I learned how to play the violin, I played it for 5 years with my orchestra. After that time we moved and when we did I bought a mandolin and ukulele I learned to play. In high school I learned to play the piano and after I thought myself how to learn to play guitar.

In my experience of learning various instruments, these are the tips that stand out to me as the most important.

1. Get A Good Quality Instrument

It doesn't need to be expensive but makes sure it's good enough to play.

It really doesn't help you to learn if you have an instrument that doesn't work and at the end of the day it'll just be a waste of money.

Back when I decided to learn to play guitar I searched through the internet and found a really cheap but decent looking guitar. I bought it believing that I could use it to learn how to play and when I get better I could buy a better guitar. When it came in the mail I opened it for the first time and I was instantly disappointed in myself for making this decision. It was simply awful: The guitar strings were simply strings of wire, the guitar felt like it was made from weak cheap wood, it was untunable, etc. I wasted money on an instrument that was trash.

I'd say when choosing an instrument go to a music store and play the instruments before you buy it, you'll probably be able to find some amazing deals at these places as well.

When I picked my first "official" guitar, I went to Guitar Center (a music store). They have a room filled with acoustic guitars where you can just play before you buy. I basically just stayed in that room all day and tried all their guitars till I found the right guitar.

The right guitar is the one that sounds, looks, and feels really good to play but has the right price.

If you're going to pick a guitar online make sure you do a lot of major research before you buy.

2. Play Your Instrument A Lot

If you ever want to get good at anything, fill your life with it. What I mean is to practice. Playing an instrument offers a boatload of benefits: higher dexterity, discipline, improved intelligence, happiness, relaxation, stress relief, and so much more.

If you seriously want to get good then play your heart out in each session.

Make sure you take breaks as well.

When I play my instruments for hours I find that I get sloppy after a long time, but after I take a break, even if it's just a minute to relax my hands and focus on something else. Upon returning to play again I play much better.

I believe a break gives your body and mind a chance to collect and store the experience you gain from playing and when you return you're fresh and ready to continue.

3. Play With Others

Nothing beats a good jam session. Playing with others allows you to try new things and to truly apply your knowledge and practice.

It's sometimes challenging, but it's usually always fun. There's nothing quite like it.

Jamming to me is like expressing myself at a deeper level. It's talking through a different medium.

Playing with others also gives you the chance to learn interesting things like original songs, new techniques, and so much more.


Thank you for reading this post, I hope you enjoyed reading it, if you have any questions or feedback please let me know in the comments section below.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

These are all tips that I still keep in mind as a professional musician... so great tips that are not just for beginners! I find that there is no substitute to going and playing instruments... preferably as many as possible at the same sitting, to get a real feel for how they are all different. Practice and resting is something that definitely needs to be in balance... after all, quality practice beats sheer quantity! ... and lastly, playing with others is definitely the most enjoyable experience of all!

I have featured you and this post for Curation Contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforward-week69entry-67nxr778zf

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-69-pay-it-forward-curation-contest

@chriscodes, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 69. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

Great advice @chriscodes. Practice, practice, practice. Even the most well known musicians practice, have jam sessions. Same with any artist of any sort. You have to do it. Usually when someone is creating they are in a groove, moment or such that all that matters is the piece they are working on

You were featured in week 69 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @bengy. @pifc is a Pay It Forward Community which believes in by helping others grow we build a stronger community. We run this contest each week, it is open to everyone. It's a great way to show off people you find that might need some more exposure, meet new people, and possibly win some SBI for you and your features.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61054.53
ETH 2976.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65