Is rock and metal dead or am I just getting old?

in #music6 years ago

Those of you who follow me will know I am metaller at heart - enjoying a flavour of rock and metal incuding classics such as Metallica, Pantera and Slayer, while enjoying some of the more 'Nu-metal' band such as Korn, Killswitch Engage and Bullet For My Valentine. As I have gotten older I have widened my musical tastes to include jazz, blues, dub and more. Some of the newer metal bands and albums have really dissapointed me! It seems that some bands have become popular, and now just follow a safe formula that they know will sell - it all sounds a bit stale to me.

When Metal goes bad

Trivium


Trivium burst on to the metal scene in 2005 with the album Ascendency, offering raw metal and pure badass tunes, such as 'Rain' and 'A gunshot to the head of trepidation'. However, it seems like since then they have gone downhill - moving to more of a pop-metal/melodic sound, and losing that raw agression I loved from Ascendency. I lost track of them abit, but it seems they released their 8th album 'The Sin and the Sentence' in 2017. The guys definetly have some talent - some of the better metal riffs (and solos) around, but I am not a fan of their newer sound. Judge for yourself - heres the single 'The Heart from your Hate' from their latest album:

Machine Head


I think I wrote about this in a previous post, but Machine Head released their ninth studio album Catharasis earlier this year. Machine Head has been one of my favourite metal bands for years, and I always have high expectations for their new releases. 2007s 'The Blackening' is a masterpiece and one of my favourite metal albums. Unfortunately I found Catharasis lacking, and offering nothing new. Although they tried for a nu-metal/rap type sounds it really wasn't my thing. Lets hope they come back stronger - I still have faith! Heres the song 'Beyond the Pale' - what do you think?

A couple of exceptions


Bullet for my Valentine


Bullet for my Valentine have been around since releasing their brilliant first album 'The Poison' back in 2005. They have just released their 6th studio album 'Gravity'. I really enjoyed this album - it has enough of the sound that I live, while offering something a little bit new - a bit of a softer side, but still offering the raw energy. Check out the new single 'Letting you go':

Scars on Broadway


Scars on Broadway was founded by System of a Down member Daron Malakian and released their selftitled album way back in 2008, and have been on hiatus until recently when they released the follow up album 'Dictator'. Scars on Broadway are primarily a rock band, but as you would expect from Daron Malakian there is elements of metal, and all sorts of brilliant lyrics. The new album Dictator hasn't ventured to far from the selftitled album - its possibly a bit slower and more 'pop' sounding - and seems to be growing on me. If you are familiar with their sound then you will recongise a similar sound with the new single 'Lives':

I would love to know your thoughts on this - is metal dead or am I just getting old? also any suggestions about new metal bands/albums to listen to would be much appreciated - I think I have been out of the loop for to long!

DQmQzFM2sDp5wYpaoktgk9L8RzJCCwPgheNTHo23JUwfAGZ.jpeg

Sort:  

I've seen 'Bullet for my Valentine' live on Graspop in Belgium this year, and must say I was baffled by them. Wasn't a fan before, am now!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah i saw them a few years back in New Zealand - was the first time i had heard them and been a fan ever since 😊

They rock pretty hard ;-) and yeah, I'm also more old skool oriented, but did learn to love some nu-stuff! Volbeat was pretty amazing too!
I had the opportunity to see them all from up pretty close, as I was frontstage crowd-control ;-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I haven't heard of volbeat so will give them a listen 😆

You should!😉 they're Scandinavian, and had a gazillion of crowdsurfers during their performance :-) Bullet for my Valentine did too btw...

Posted using Partiko iOS

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by conradt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@crimsonclad does a weekly show on @msp-waves called "Full Force Thursday". It's about 2pm Friday live for us. Plenty of new stuff. Metal's a really big tent with a lot of sub genres.
Mind you, I think the willingness of listeners to stick with old stuff combined with the massive unfiltered availability of new music means a bit of consertvatism is probably necessary for a band wanting to make a living.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99