Quarter Notes

in #music5 years ago (edited)

So for 18 months now, I’ve been on this project to learn the twelve Spanish dances by Enrique Granados. I’m into number seven but as I learn, continuous practice and refinement of the ones already covered is a must ...

Over the weekend, I became obsessed with the first one, Galante, which by now I’ve played a lot. It’s in 3/4. My instructor has told me not to shortchange the quarter notes. I went back and did a review of the music and became obsessed with the question of “Exactly how much time should a quarter note receive?”

1CE9D47B-AEA1-4933-A259-5F6C7B3FF7A5.png

It’s as much a philosophical query as a musical one. Every instance one plays a piece of music, it happens at a different point in time. The player is not the same as he was previously. Hearing the time in the notes is perceived or interpreted in its own particular moment...

Not sure why I find that interesting but will say that my esteem for composers and musicians has grown a great deal because of this experience ...

Below is the culmination of many iterations...

Hope you like it!

Sort:  

If you are interested, there is a classical music (also supporting jazz and folk) community at the tag #classical-music and the discord below! Hope to see you there!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67