The most awesome musical find of the month: Zazie released a new album in September 2018!

in #music6 years ago

This album sounds so good! I found Zazie in my random Youtube browsings of French music a few years ago. Oh, how I loved their music! The singer really knows how to make her voice sound dramatic, and the instrumentation is one of the best in the genre. All of their songs have a strong mood that can almost be felt.


Cover of the album Essenciel by Zazie

The album was released a month ago. I always discover them a bit late. I was listening to some French music on Spotify, a bit pretty, but not that awesome, when I found a really awesome song that clashed with the previous standards. I went to see who had sung it and, bam, new Zazie release! Felt so good.

Here's the title song: L'essenciel

Her voice is not the traditional female singer's voice in the genre. It's raspy and emotional and conveys some sort of permanent feeling. It's not that good to always convey the same thing, but with the musical accompaniment, the songs feel really immersing.

This album is a bit innovative. There is electronic music in all of their albums, but this one has much more of this element. In the following song, Waterloo, you'll see that there is a strong techno vibe and that the melodious tendency typical of other songs is not that prevalent.

In the other Zazie albums, particularly the first two I downloaded (Cyclo and Totem), I felt more of a dark mood which agreed more with my state of mind in those days. And now that I'm making an effort to get better, this album brings a bit of nostalgia, but it's in high spirits so it agrees more with my current mood. Is Zazie's music made for me? 😊😊😊

I usually list all the ways you can buy and listen to the album, but this time, the Zazie team made it really easy, so I'll post that link instead:

Official links

But I know that this is the blockchain and that the site I linked to will probably die in a few months or years, so here's an archive link in case that happens.

I'll also put down some links here for ease of use:

I've already listened to it 4 times on Spotify. I won't talk much more about it. I think it's better if you just listen to it yourselves. It's not for everyone, and it's not all like the happy, light pop I usually share. At least for me, it's a heavy listen, but it makes me love it even more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00