Famous Blue Raincoat | Leonard Cohen Himself | + some words from me

in #music5 years ago

some words from me (@davidfar) :

When I heard this song for the first time, I remember a day I was writing lyrics in my room when I was in college, and it was exactly 4 in the morning, which I was awake from the yesterday night, and that moment I was writing so free about the things was happening in that hour, and some words which were coming to my head, unfortunately I don't have that book to know what I had wrote in that moment, but I know the feeling about it, sometimes you have to be out of the norm and feel the things and experience things you can't experience in the normal times of day, and so I shared this song cause whenever I play this song by Cohen, I feel like it's giving me that feeling.

about this track I love the warm sound of the guitar and the arpeggio and the style Leonard is singing is so free and natural and have much emotions in it and specially the lyrics which I already wrote about the feeling of that, creativity and the freedom of it which also written with a rhythmic sound on words like " It's four in / the morning, / the end of / December. " (the Technique called Amphibrach)

so listen and enjoy guys!

Famous Blue Raincoat

Artist: Leonard Cohen - Songwriter: Leonard Cohen

Lyrics

It's four in the morning, the end of December
I'm writing you now just to see if you're better
New York is cold, but I like where I'm living
There's music on Clinton Street all through the evening
I hear that you're building your little house deep in the desert
You're living for nothing now, I hope you're keeping some kind of record
Yes, and Jane came by with a lock of your hair
She said that you gave it to her
That night that you planned to go clear
Did you ever go clear?
Ah, the last time we saw you you looked so much older
Your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder
You'd been to the station to meet every train, and
You came home without Lili Marlene
And you treated my woman to a flake of your life
And when she came back she was nobody's wife
Well I see you there with the rose in your teeth
One more thin gypsy thief
Well, I see Jane's awake
She sends her regards
And what can I tell you my brother, my killer
What can I possibly say?
I guess that I miss you, I guess I forgive you
I'm glad you stood in my way
If you ever come by here, for Jane or for me
Well, your enemy is sleeping, and his woman is free
Yes, and thanks, for the trouble you took from her eyes
I thought it was there for good so I never tried
And Jane came by with a lock of your hair
She said that you gave it to her
That night that you planned to go clear

Sincerely, L Cohen



Peace & Love!
D.F

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56