3/6/18 - Beastie Boys - Rap

in #music6 years ago

Hey guys!

Today I'll be recommending the timeless, extremely influential rap group Beastie Boys. Hailing from NYC in the late 80s, the Beastie Boys started out as a hardcore punk group, influenced by the likes of Bad Brains. Early in their existence though, they transformed into a hip-hop outfit, and all white one at that. They have an incredibly unique sound, and I am sure most of you are familiar with a handful of their songs. If you're new to them, here's their full discography to get started: https://rateyourmusic.com/artist/beastie_boys

My favorite record from the Beastie Boys is Licensed to Ill, but many fans prefer, say, Paul's Boutique or Ill Communicatrion. Listen to them all to decide for yourself!

Here's "Rhymin' and Stealin'":

And here's the spectacular music video to "Sabotage" :

Enjoy everyone!

Listen to the Beastie Boys while: Reading up on bigfoot

Sort:  

I think Beastie Boys are a bit underrated in hiphop, at least where I am from Northern Europe. There was always talk about them not being "real". But in my opinion they are a group that always did their own thing, and therefor are REAL.

I have many friends that love hip hop. It was always consensus about the only album worth listening to was Pauls Boutique. But I think that it was mainly snobbery :-)

I got the album PB quite early- it took me years to like it. It is a hard album to listen to, or it was at the time of its's release. No other album at the time sounded like that. In retrospect, the album really showed their musical potensial. But I still find the album hard to listen to. I can dig one or two songs, and then it just gets to much.

The next couple of albums got really big and had big crossover hits. Hard to accept for someone that was middle class and white, and at the same time tried to be hardcore hip hop'ers. That is where the snobbery comes in. Crossover appeal was called selling out.

I still have trouble listening to a whole album with Beastie Boys. But thinking of all the hits and strong songs they have made in so many periods of hip hop and music in general... What an amazing group!

Thanks for that great write up! Good insight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67