Music and Art Monday, March 4, 2019: Th3 Duvalspaceprogam

in #music5 years ago

I will be the first to tell you that I don’t know much about hip hop. But I do know what I like. Reviews are supposed to be subjective anyways, right?

This week’s album is The Duval Space Progam’s Good Grief Itz Marlie Brown. It’s probably not an album that I would listen to except for the fact that I am Facebook friends with the album’s cover artist. It’s also probably not an album most people will listen to. They only have 5 monthly listeners right now (probably as many people as will read this, to be honest).

It’s…. different.

I hate to say it, but my initial thought was “this reminds me of that Family Guy episode where they get high and enter the talent show.

A lot of this album probably sounds great if you’re high, but without the aid of mind altering substances it’s tough to get through.

That’s not to say it’s all bad. There are a few high points (no pun intended) like “Crii Babiez” and the beat to “Good Grief!”. It’s a mixed bag with decent beats and from what I can tell decent rapping. But when singing is attempted… Well… ::thinks back to that Family Guy episode::

Go have a listen, who knows, I could be totally wrong. They could very well be the next big thing in hip hop.

Go check out my other reviews for local acts:

Hensley
Modern Violence
Viewers Like You
Loretto
The Young Step
SolaFide!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50