Music Producers: Working With Talent

in #music7 years ago

As a record producer I work with some crazy talented musicians, but every now and then I get paired up with a musician that doesn’t quite hit the mark. Maybe they can’t play with a metronome or maybe they can’t double parts. Maybe their own personal bar of where “good” really sits is a little skewed. The way I handle them can influence the performance I get and it’s pertinent that I make the right decision on how to deal with a less-than-awesome musician.

Step one is to figure out how thick their skin really is. Are they going to cry when I ask them to redo something? Are they going to take it way too personally or will they step up and knock it out like a pro? I feel like I’m a pretty good judge of character but there are times when I miss the mark.

Most of the best performances are going to be in the first fews takes of a line (This is assuming they know the part), and then they typically get progressively worse. You beat somebody up for an hour on the same line and they start playing one take slightly better than the other and it’s important to keep in perspective that one isn’t “the take” just because it’s good by comparison. Review the first couple and compare to keeps things on a level playing field.

Sometimes all they need is a break. Go to dinner, take a breather, joke around, do 20 push ups, whatever.

Sometimes you have to break someone down for them to snap out of whatever ego / entitlement / mentality they came in with so you can get what the song needs. They cry, Sometimes they quit. Most of the time they respect me and I end up with a great take once I get them to the point where they’re about to tell me to "eff" off.

Musicians can be cocky, pushy or have a certain mentality because they came from here or went to school there or had this gig or that gig or whatever. I can be just as pushy tho and if it’s my clients money thats on the table I’ll get what I need or I’ll bring in someone who can do it in less time. That person is always around the corner.

At times I’ll let these type of people do what they think is right, then ask them to come in and listen. Next we do it my way so they can hear the difference. Hence the job of the producer.

Be gentle if you need to be. Be their friend, but always be brutally honest. It’s the only way people learn or grow. Artists have everyone in the world kiss their ass and tell them how great they are. Managers, family, friends, label people, A&R, you name it. The producer is the one guy who keeps it real and doesn’t budge. It’s his job to make sure things get done correctly and hopefully help you grow a little along the way.

by Jonathan Roye

Sort:  

Congratulations @dxsnipe! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good thoughts @dxsnipe. I know what you mean about the comfort zones of talent. I have seen this in audio and in video. I love this video clip with Jonah Hill talking about that exact thing while working with Martin Scorsese.
Upvoted and Following and looking forward to more of your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68