Is this the best Christmas song ever? Part 1

in #music5 years ago

Please spare a thought as we enter December for all the shop staff who are going to have to endure incessant syrupy, and quite bluntly, some nauseating dirge that gets played to death at this time of year simply because it has 'Christmas' in the title.
There are a lot of songs that I do look forward to hearing, and many have rightly become classics
So I'm starting this new series of posts to count down to what I think is the best Christmas song in the run up to the big day
I'm starting with a classic that many of us might know
It's a staple of radio stations at this time of year, and you'll no doubt hear it when you're doing your shopping - which is a big part of the reason I do most of mine online now
I'm going to include songs that made it to No.1 simply because they were released in December; but are forever associated with the big day
There's a few classics that most of you will kinow
So, who can tell me (No prizes I'm afraid) the iconic title of a super groups smash hit that topped the charts in the 70s
I don't mean 'Wings' with '"Mull of Kintyre,' which was there for 9 weeks in 77 - I don't consider them a super group.
Or Pink Floyd's "Another Brick in the Wall," even though it is a superb fun song whcih was the smash hit ofthe whole of 79 if I remember correctly
There's been some great songs at No 1, and there's been some novelty songs, and a lot of rubbish
Although this isn't a countdown of the best sellers or a list of chart toppers I will include quite a few
One novelty song many people will remember is benny Hill's Ernie (The Fastest Milkman in the West)
One you'll want to banish from your mind is; Mr. Blobby.
What an utter travesty that was

Great Songs That Didn't Make No.1

I know I said this isn't a list of #1s but there's a number of incredible songs that were kept off the top of the charts, and might not get played, or included in festive albums for that reason, so many of you might never have heard of theses gems
I'm going to correct that injustice in this list. Think of it as my Xmas pressie to these writers and artists
You've no doubt got your own favourites so please share them here with everybody, and maybe we can have a vote on it
Some might call it a novelty song, some a festive song that captured the spirit of the season, but I'll leave you for this post with:

St Winifred's school choir: Grandma we love you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97