Justin Timberlake - What Goes Around...Comes Around (cover by Ed Privat)

in #music6 years ago


SONG REQUEST !!!

It's a song request from my buddy @dandays, one day he mentioned that song in a comment, so I took it as a challenge, and here is now my version of Justin Timberlake - What Goes Around...Comes Around
Congratulation on winning 0.5SBD!!!

I worked for a bunch of days on this, I don't know if you can notice, but I just kept the same T shirt (yuk) so it looks like it the same day, but it's actually spread out on the whole week.
What I underestimated, is the amount of backing vocal in the song, and there's a lot of little things happening in the production too.

I decided to really stay as close as I could to the original , replacing the sampled guitar by real guitars, the beat and prod was done on Cubase 9, the tempo is 76 bpm, I didn't sleep much cause i got a tiny bit obsessed with the song, sorry to my wife @lionmom that's pretty much all I have been speaking about since Monday.

156 cups of coffee were consumed during the recording !
I really hope that you enjoy it , once again not just coffee was poured, a lot of heart as well!

Here are the lyrics!

Justin Timberlake - What Goes Around...Comes Around

Hey, girl, is he everything you wanted in a man?
You know I gave you the world
You had me in the palm of your hand
So why your love went away
I just can't seem to understand
Thought it was me and you, babe
Me and you until the end
But I guess I was wrong
Don't want to think about it
Don't want to talk about it
I'm just so sick about it
Can't believe it's ending this way
Just so confused about it
Feeling the blues about it
I just can't do without ya
Tell me, is this fair?
Is this the way it's really going down?
Is this how we say goodbye?
Should have known better when you came around
That you were gonna make me cry
It's breaking my heart to watch you run around
'Cause I know that you're living a lie
That's okay, baby, 'cause in time you will find
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
Now girl, I remember everything that you claimed
You said that you were moving on now
And maybe I should do the same
Funny thing about that is
I was ready to give you my name
Thought it was me and you, babe
And now it's all just a shame
And I guess I was wrong
Don't want to think about it
Don't want to talk about it
I'm just so sick about it
Can't believe it's ending this way
Just so confused about it
Feeling the blues about it
I just can't do without ya can you tell me, is this fair?
Is this the way it's really going down?
Is this how we say goodbye?
Should have known better when you came around
Should have known better that you were gonna make me cry
And now it's breaking my heart to watch you run around
'Cause I know that you're living a lie
That's ok, baby, 'cause in time you will find
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around, yeah
What goes around comes around
Yeah
What goes around comes around
You should know that
What goes around comes around
Yeah
What goes around comes around
You should know that
Don't want to think about it
Don't want to talk about it
I'm just so sick about it
Can't believe it's ending this way
Just so confused about it
Feeling the blues about it
I just can't do without ya
Tell me, is this fair?
Is this the way it's really going down?
Is this how we say goodbye?
Should have known better when you came around
Should have known better that you were gonna make me cry
It's breaking my heart to watch you run around ('cause I know that you're living a lie)
That's ok, baby, 'cause in time you will find
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around, yeah


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We were discussing ‘something about something’ hu? Ya I don’t remember the exact conversation either, we’ve had plenty of those lately. I remember my response being:
“In the words of my Man, JT, ‘what goes around comes around.’ “ (man I’m stoked you interpreted that as a challenge) Thank you!

That sure does look like a lot of video takes (recordings). Great job dude! Laying layers on top of layers, that was so cool to watch Ed. i’ve acquired shirts in a similar fashion!

I know what you’re saying as far as underestimating the project. For me, personally, there’s a few different layers of underestimating. What I think is simple, turns out to be difficult and vice versa - the tough ones seem to draw or write themselves. That goes for the community, too, from what I’ve learned. Something I think will cause people to turn away actually captures attention instead and what I think is a shoe in gets zero love! Ha!! Gotta love it man.

Hey great performance again, I’m a huge JT fan. Please excuse a post size response. 👍🏿

I enjoy my Morning Cup the same way... to some @edprivat!

Thanks for your feedback buddy! I was discussing with someone who was telling me that it sounded and looked almost like a karaoke, which is exactly the opposite of what I wanted to translate, maybe the building up of the beat, the bass, the strings, should be shown more , and maybe the guitar should have less reverb, but the whole point of the exercise was to show a DIY version of the song.
Maybe I need to find a way to make it more dynamic, change shots and camera angles!

I apologize I posted it on dtube instead of dlive , i realize it's more difficult for you to watch but I wanted to give another try to dtube.
oh well!

It’s Dsound that us iPhone users can’t access, Dlive and Dtube is a-ok!

Dude I wouldn’t critique anything you’re doing cuz I enjoy the stage you’re building. I agree with camera angles though, I think that’s a great idea. Thanks again, Ed!

I just saw your comment today I apologize! Ok I had no idea about dsound not accessible for Mac users!

So that I can quit forgetting to say something. You mention all the takes and wearing the same shirt. Multiple shirts would be cool, Ed, signifying all the takes actually.
That JT song is in my head regularly now and I keep meaning to tell you that. Good morning ya’all!

That's actually smart ! Morning to you my friend when is your next art coming up?

Thanks for being interested! Actually, I have one that’s been done for about a week, a recording, it’s in the final editing steps. This is a new phase so it’s taking quite a bit of time to transfer information and then learn the editing to speed up and slow down footage.
I’m working on your Syria request now. It’s done in my head already! I’m recording that one, too. Two videos are just around the corner.
Between @theruggle and myself we’ve been having to increase our collection: Memory cards, ram, etc.
Did I ramble enough and not answer your question! 👍🏿 Early next week..
I just hope the first go-round is decent quality.

That was just the right amount of rambling for me , I hope the first go round is decent quality too brother but we all know that's never the case !
It's all good for the Syrian request if I may call it that way, there's no due date !
Looking forward to!

👍🏿 Finding an image took a long time. The drawing will actually be the easy part. Ya it’s gonna take awhile bro, I’ve taught myself quite a bit thanks to your request... The story is going to take some time.

no worry bro take your time !

Sounds great, Ed! I especially love the 'musical bed' so to say :) Really well produced, keep up the good work! xxx

Musical Bed, lovely way to put it , "yaaaaaaawn" I am gonna go lie down in it for a while :) if you don't mind

Sleep well ;)

Watching your facial expressions is almost as good as listening to the track.
Great fun altogether!

LOL !Some of those takes are the actual audio takes. Some moments I almost forget that camera's rolling :)

That was so freakin good! @dandays and I were just getting so frustrated trying to import videos from our GoPro and then I saw your post. We both put down the camera and listened to your rendition of JT bobbing our heads back and forth. You totally killed it! Thanks for snapping us out of a senselessly frustrating morning. Thank you @lionmom for putting up with @edprivat so he could make this song. You both Rock 👍

Thanks @puravidaville! Are you guys winning this ? you got "Shotcut" the software I was mentioning?

Is ‘shotcut’ To edit? Please keep giving us your information because lord knows we need it. We just figured out how to send a video from the device to email (I know we are sad aren’t we 🤦🏼‍♀️). @dandays is doing a practice run and shortly after we’ll be ready for the editing software.

Ed, my man. I have a song for you, "What the hell" Avril Lavigne

OK bro don't tell anyone, because it means I would have failed a challenge, but I tried to record it 2 days ago and it was a bit weird from a dude's perspective...
Do you have another song request by any chance?

Haha! Chris Rene "young homie"

I can work with that !

i like it!
i wanna support you!

Oh what beauty! :O
Sounds great. it's hard to beat the great Justin Timberlake but you just made it perfect

That's very lovely to hear ! Thanks dear!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ed Privat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

AWesome thanks @minnowsupport and P.A.L

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @djlethalskillz from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87