Music: The Weeknd - My Dear Melancholy, (EP 2018)

in #music6 years ago

The Weeknd just released a 6 track brand new hot EP called My Dear Melancholy, (don't skip the , at the end). Before you start ready, you can hit the play button below, as the album (It's ok to call it an album, read below why) is available on YouTube (hope in most if not all countries).
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLK2zhq9oy0K4yxwMmBPsXQ3NvaQSxw6rY

I have done this in the past and I would like to keep this tradition in writing about music. Albums, artists, the story behind the product (as far as I know it). I am a DJ, I ran my own recording studio and record label, toured for some time, dealt with radio and tv stations, managers, artists, bookers, promoters - you name it. I have some experience, but that counts for nothing.

The only thing that matters is what a song (album, clip, artist etc.) manages to transmit to you. Period.

That's why calling an EP (this EP in particular) an album. Because it has a name, it has a sound, it has a beginning and an end. It's a concept, and it has as many songs as it needs. I think The Weeknd has the authority over his music to decide what and when it's the right time for him to drop a single and most importantly, what that single is about.

It's been proven in the past, because, if you didn't know by now, Weekend was up until 2015 a no-hit wonder. He made his way up to the top independently. Toronto raised, he and his crew dropped several albums (that I highly recommend listening to) 100% independently. It's funny how time passes by, and 2011-2012 seems so far.

Back to this EP, it was about time to drop something new. It wasn't long ago that I calculated when Starboy was released (can you believe it's been 1/2 years already?). So the timing is good. I think it was posted on the radio here in Toronto that something new from The Weeknd it's going to be released, but nobody really knew if it was a song, an album or whatever.

Gossip says this is going back to the roots, to the sound that made him successful. I would disagree. He never lost that feeling in his songs. Yes, the sound was influenced, but I can feel depression (or better, melancholy) in all of his songs.

He was fortunate enough to work with the best producers in the world (he has Skrillex on this EP) like Daft Phunk. But they were the ones who adapt to his style, and not vice-versa.

Do you like The Weeknd?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75