Duncan by Paul Simon

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Hello Steemians! Thanks for the warm welcome and the appreciation of my original song. Means the world! This is Duncan by Paul Simon, one of my favorite songs by one of my favorite writers. I recorded this right after my last upload and I thought I would share it with you now as Steem-exclusive content.

If you're in the Cleveland area and would like to catch a show, all my upcoming stuff can be found at www.emilykeener.com/events.

Oh, and here's a YouTube link for those of you that have trouble viewing D-Tube content:

All the best!

Lyrics:
Couple in the next room bound to win a prize
They've been going at it all night long
Well, I'm tryin' to get some sleep
But these motel walls are cheap
Lincoln Duncan is my name
And here's my song, here's my song

My father was a fisherman
My mama was a fisherman's friend
And I was born in the boredom and the chowder
So when I reached my prime
I left my home in the Maritimes
Headed down the turnpike for New England, sweet New England

Holes in my confidence
Holes in the knees of my jeans
I was left without a penny in my pocket
Ooh-oowee, I was about as destituted as a kid could be
And I wished I wore a ring so I could hock it
I'd like to hock it

A young girl in a parkin' lot
Was preaching to a crowd
Singing sacred songs and reading from the Bible
Well, I told her I was lost
And she told all about the Pentecost
And I seen that girl as the road to my survival

Just later on the very same night
When she crept to my tent with a flashlight
And my long years of innocence ended
Well, she took me to the woods
Sayin' "Here comes something, and it feels so good!"
And just like a dog I was befriended, I was befriended

Oh, oh, what a night
Oh, what a garden of delight
Even now that sweet memory lingers
I was playing my guitar
Lyin' underneath the stars
Just thankin' the Lord
For my fingers
For my fingers


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Beautiful cover. Thanks for sharing! @journeyfreedom

Beautiful cover. Thanks for sharing! @journeyfreedom

Very beautifully sung, you ptu me in mind of a very young Joni Mitchell. Wow!

I really dig your voice! Welldone! @emilykeener

Gosh girl your voice kills me. I love it.

Congratulations @emilykeener! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @emilykeener! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @emilykeener! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70