My 13 Year Old Covers Grace Vanderwaal's "I Don't Know My Name" - Acoustic Guitar

in #music7 years ago

                                          

Here is my 13 year old daughter performing a cover of Grace Vanderwaal's "I Don't Know My Name".  Grace was the winner of last season's America's Got Talent. She too is 13 and only 12 when she won the show. I love both versions of the beautiful sog. Grace uses a ukulele and her raspy voice just catches the essence of the song. My little girl has a softer tone and uses an acoustic guitar. 

I think it makes it have two different levels of feeling.  The talent young people have today. So proud of her. Hope you guys enjoyed it as much as I did.


 

I Don't Know My Name
Grace VanderWaal

I don't know my name
I don't play by the rules of the game
So you say I'm just trying
Just trying


So I heard you are my sister's friend
You get along quite nicely
You ask me why I cut my hair
And changed myself completely


I am lost...
Trying to get found
In an ocean of people
Please don’t ask me any questions
You won’t get a valid answer
I’ll just say that


I don't know my name
I don't play by the rules of the game
So you say I'm just trying
Just trying


I went from bland and popular to joining the marching band
I made the closest friends I'll ever have in my lifetime


I am lost...
Trying to get found
In an ocean of people


I now know my name!
I don't play by the rules of the game
So you say, I'm not trying
But I'm trying
To find my way

Sort:  

Very nice. I really liked her version.

Thank you so much for the nice comment. I and Naomi both appreciated it.

What we do see depends mainly on what we look for. ... In the same field the farmer will notice the crop, the geologists the fossils, botanists the flowers, artists the colouring, sportmen the cover for the game. Though we may all look at the same things, it does not all follow that we should see them

This post has received a 3.66 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @ericgordon.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post has received a 14.44 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @ericgordon.

ah 144p, we meet again.

hahaha I know right. When I was recording it the quality looked great. But when I uploaded it to YouTube the quality went into the garbage can :/ I think I know what I did wrong though a I am a complete noob to video and photos. We will attempt to do it right next time as she deserves as much. Thanks!

Congratulations @ericgordon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68