Here's another dimension for ya...

in #music7 years ago

20170918_231234.png

My father's side of the family were hillbillies. Seriously.
Mountain livin', gun shootin' hillbillies.

My dad was the first of his family to pack up and head west for more.

My great grandfather attended a poker game in a cabin, in the Appalachian Mountains, in the 30's.
He won himself a 1939 Gibson Kalamazoo 4 string tenor banjo, and gave it to my grandfather for his 14th birthday.

When my grandfather passed away close to 10 years ago, at his home in the farming town Springfield, Ohio, all I wanted was that banjo.

The survival of the Gibson Company was threatened with the onset of The Great Depression in the 1930's. The company turned to making wooden toys until the musical instrument market recuperated. The toy line took on the company's hometown name - Kalamazoo; when the production of instruments commenced once again, the name stuck for the line of low cost banjos and guitars. This is one of the banjos.

I've been trying to play (admittedly not well) the past few years.
Any tips would be greatly appreciated!!

20170918_231219.png

20170918_231056.jpg

Sort:  

you look great with it - a contrast of modern urban girl and an old country folk instrument. I hope you don't give up on it, cause it would be great to hear you play.

you look nice with guitar, me too interested in music. could you?

I am trying to break into the banjo to! Admittedly not that great and not doing it as much as I should. But I have two and I really want to be good one day. If you find any teachers or tut videos would love to hear and see and learn from your banjo playing experience. Bring us along on the learning experience if you can.

Wow! I just checked out your profile and, to be honest, I sure as hell didn't see this coming! Too totally cool!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53