Playing with Visions of Chaos (free software for generating fractals etc.)

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Visions of Chaos is free software for generating fractals and more, available for Windows and Android. According to the developer: "It is the most complete all in one application dealing with Chaos Theory available." I don't know if that's true, but it certainly can do a lot of cool stuff. It can create images and video, and even has a few modes for generating music via MIDI. The visuals in this video were created with the OpenGL Shader Language mode. Though I just used some of the included demo files (of which there are many), someone who knows what they're doing could create their own. The music was also generated with VoC, using the Automatic Music Creator mode. The generated MIDI was imported into Reaper and stretched to make the note lengths, and thus the entire track, longer. Plug-ins were used for the sounds and effects.

Some of these clips have been used in other videos, but appear in longer and/or unaltered versions here.

Link to the Visions of Chaos web page:

http://www.softology.com.au/voc.htm


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is RAD!

I've never used this software before, and wish it was also available for Mac OS. I use Mandelbulb 3D for the animations I have created, and it is very processor heavy. My machine is getting old and has a hard time rendering these days. How's the render time on those animations?

Clean work my dude, keep it up!

Thanks man, much appreciated! From the little I know about Mandelbulb, this program is similar in ways, one of them likely being render time. It's pretty rough, lol. My machine isn't great, and also a few years old. Most of these took over an hour (some more than 2) to render the short clips you see here, this video is probably a week's worth of letting stuff render while I did something else. I've mostly used it for bits & pieces in cut-up type videos. Good material for datamoshing and other glitchy stuff too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58