You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Production Inspiration - Mathew Jonson Presents His Synth Favorites: Roland SH-101

in #music6 years ago

Yay for TAL Bassline! I've never had my hands on the real thing, so I can't comment on the emulation accuracy, but as a synth in it's own right, I love it.

Sort:  

For me, it doesn't matter so much if the emulation is accurate as the thing that is hard to emulate is always the workflow. TAL Bassline was one of the first 3rd party VSTs that I ever used and I've never looked at is as a lesser than. Argueably, I've logged more time with the VST than the real thing (until I went 64 Bit and couldn't use the emulation anymore). Perhaps I'll get the non-free one at some point.

I tend not to care about emulation accuracy either, generally speaking. The draw of a lot of the emulations I use is more about the features. I guess in this case, the lack thereof. Sometimes this basic osc/sub-osc/filter setup is exactly what you need.

Exactly. What makes so much classic gear inspiring is how the limitations and workflow inspire, not necessarily the sound. Sometimes having too many options is the worst thing for actually getting stuff done. However, the one place where emulations do have an appeal for me is in classic string sounds. Solina sounds always have an edge for me that I can't find many other places.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84