Recent Bandcamp pickups October 2018

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This one represents several paychecks' worth of music spending, so there's quite a few to go through here.

Four Dimensional Nightmare - Crystallized Carbon
4dn-crystal.jpg

https://4dnightmare.bandcamp.com/album/crystallized-carbon

My second purchase from 4DN, this is the companion album to the one I already had, Transcending Radio. This one is perhaps even a little more "out there", and of the two, I slightly prefer this one (though both are great). Highly recommended for fans of experimental stuff.

Rob Robinson - Meathook Massacre II OST
meatmass.jpg

https://sergeantsawtooth.bandcamp.com/album/meathook-massacre-2-original-score-by-rob-robinson

It seems like many of my favorite industrial and electronic artists "grow up" to become composers of movie or TV soundtracks (I'm a huge fan of soundtracks, so no complaints). Graeme Revell, Paul Haslinger, J.G. Thirlwell, Clint Mansell, the list goes on. Rob Robinson is part of that list too. Previously he was member of one of my all-time favorite groups, BOL, and has also been part of several other great industrial bands (most recently performing with ohGr). He currently releases solo stuff under the name Sergeant Sawtooth, and has composed a couple of film soundtracks, including this one. The music here is in the realm of retro-synth music, at times feeling similar to something like the theme for Tales From the Crypt. Really cool stuff.

Sielwolf & Nam-khar - Atavist Craft
atavist.jpg

https://sombresoniks.bandcamp.com/album/atavist-craft

Working backwards here, as I had previously picked up the more recent release from this team-up, Opressfield. If you like dark ambient, you should really check this project out. Excellent stuff.

Out Out - Asteroid 99 soundtrack and other experimental works
asteroid99.jpg

https://outout.bandcamp.com/album/asteroid-99-soundtrack-and-other-experimental-works

Another case of a soundtrack from a favorite industrial artist. Also includes some of the work Mark Alan Miller did under the name Red Lily, which tends towards the experimental. The soundtrack work here is somewhat similar to the techno-flavored stuff Out Out has done, while the "Scrapings" lean more towards dark ambient. Definitely different stuff here than the usual Out Out album, if there can even be said to be such a thing (Mr. Miller tends to genre-hop in interesting ways). I really enjoy it though, as I do with pretty much anything this guy does.

The Lion's Daughter - Future Cult
futurecult.jpg

https://thelionsdaughter.bandcamp.com/album/future-cult

If you were around for my last Bandcamp post, you may recall how I said that I had been in a mood for metal. Apparently that mood is sticking around. Like the last metal album I grabbed there, this is one I found through following links on Bandcamp. There's synths on this one too, though minimal. I think they fit quite well, though since I'm coming from an industrial-centric perspective, I obviously have more love for synths than your average metalhead. In any case, I'd say these guys are heavy as hell, and I quite like this album. I'd like to find more stuff like this (recommendations welcome).

Proto-Tyrant - TrAcer 3ffect
tracereffect.png

https://industriestandard.bandcamp.com/album/tracer-3ffect

More industro-breakcore from Industriestandard Records here. This one is a bit mellower than the release I picked up from their label-mates tRash.eAter a while ago, but still very enjoyable imo.


decline.jpg

https://godflesh1.bandcamp.com/album/decline-and-fall-ep

...and with this EP, my Godflesh collection is once again up-to-date. :) It's Godflesh, need I say more?

Howls Of Ebb - Cursus Impasse: The Pendlomic Vows
cursus.jpg

https://i-voidhangerrecords.bandcamp.com/album/cursus-impasse-the-pendlomic-vows

Continuing to indulge that metal mood I mentioned. This one is more "traditional" death metal I guess, though I think I hear some synth work mixed in here & there on this one too. I'm not an expert on this stuff, so I don't know who to compare it to or anything. I guess it's what you might expect from the cover and the name though. :)

Street Sects - End Position
endpos.jpg

https://streetsects.bandcamp.com/album/end-position-2

I've been hearing quite a bit about this band in various industrial corners of the web, and to be honest that usually doesn't mean much to me these days. I don't mean to imply that there's not any good industrial music being released, there's a ton in fact. It just doesn't tend to be the stuff that gets talked about, sadly. Well, this band is definitely an exception. I'm really digging this... sort of industro-punk with a touch of breakcore, and a slight nod in the direction of early Numb. Whatever, it's really good stuff.

Ok, well that (finally) wraps it up for this time. Hope you find something in there you enjoy as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99