Sort:  

Great post.
One thing that I have always found to be extremely helpful with mixing and arrangement is listening away from the equipment - on your iPod or in a car if you drive, I don't so use the iPod on the bus. Anything that doesn't work will stand out like a saw thumb when listening like this.

Also, personally I find that leaving a mix for a few weeks (if you can) and then going back and listening to it gives me a better idea of weather it really works or not. Sometimes I get sick of something or too invested and judgement goes to the wayside so a reasonable break can help a lot in your evaluation. Of course this only applies if you are making music for yourself and have the luxury of all that time.

Thanks for your comment.

I try to listen away from equipment as well, oscillating between headphones, living room stereo, and especially car stereo. It never hurts to hear how the mix is translating outside a studio space.

I completely agree with taking a break from mixing and coming back to it with fresh ears. Like you said, judgement can get sketchy, and walking away for some time will help regain focus and objectivity.

I suppose if you're a professional with quick turnaround deadlines, you probably don't have the luxury of taking a break for weeks, or even a couple days. Even then, the ears need a break throughout the day. Maybe 10-15 minute breaks for every 1.5hrs; maybe a 30-60 minute break every 4 hrs; etc.

Respect the ears!

Welcome to the platform! Looking forward to hearing from other producers about their workflow and what makes them tick in the studio.

Awesome. I feel the same. I like hearing multiple opinions about workflow which helps inform my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72