Precious metal

in #music5 years ago

Last week was remarkable for its mediocrity. I know, kind of boring right? It would have been nice to describe a week in which I cured cancer, landed a manned-flight on Mars or found the first asshole to start the duckface-pout-trend and slap them...But alas, no such luck. Nope, just a pretty standard week really. One thing that was interesting though was some new music I've been listening to. It's not a new band by any means although I've not heard their music before and thanks to a good buddy of mine I have now. Nice one bro.

The band is called Atreyu a five man metalcore outfit who hail from The OC in California (Orange County). The guys have released seven [studio] albums since 2002 with the latest being In Our Wake released in 2018. You can see the cover pictured below, taken from their webpage.

Retribution was the original name of the band however the name change to Atreyu came after some of the members and their musical direction also changed.

Some may recall the name Atreyu from the a book called The Neverending Story by Michael Ende. In the book Atreyu is a boy-warrior tasked with finding a cure for the ailing Empress and is aided on his quest by his luckdragon called Falkor, a quest in which many adventures ensue. Anyway, it's a cool name.

Below is a track from their latest album. I haven't heard all of their music yet but over the week heard a great deal of it and it seems with this latest release they have matured and have invested more of themselves and individual journey's in their work. It feels like a more sophisticated album than their previous releases and one I feel heralds their coming of age for lack of a better expression. The vocals also seem stronger and more diverse than their last offerings and it lends this album more depth especially on the symphonic tracks with guest-appearances by M. Shadows and Aaron Gillespie of Avenged Sevenfold and Underoath respectively.

Atreyu's music isn't for everyone of course, it's metal and many don't see the value in it. I for one have a very diverse musical taste though and listen to so many different bands and artists. 80% of what I listen to is modern country music because I'm a country boy at heart and the other 20% is made up of other genre's including classical and of course some metal.

My week was unremarkable in most ways however finding this cool band has been a fortunate discovery so thanks to my mate Dan. You're a bloody rough bastard but I know you've got my six and that I can rely on you. Thanks bro, for this band and for standing shoulder to shoulder with me.

Music means a lot to me and I know there's other's on the platform who also love it and couldn't live without it. Have you discovered a new band or favourite song lately? It would be cool if you shared it with everyone. Maybe, if enough people get on board, it could be a thing, like a music-suggestion club or something.

Anyway, if you don't mind a bit of metal, get your ears onto Atreyu and enjoy!

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

I am sad to say that music has been limited for me as of late as I have opted to catch up on a nimber of podcasts while I workout instead of music! Probably the reason why my adrenaline isn’t thebsame as of late when pumping some iron!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Pump some tunes when you pump iron you'll.lift more...I listen to a lot of podcasts too. I like Jocko Willink a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5000 replies. Your next target is to reach 5250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Recently I discovered a radio station that plays tons of rock form the 70' 80s and 90s . I hadn't listened to much rock, metal or alternative for years but I find myself just wanting to rock and this station does that for me. it's 94.1 FM out of Rhode Island

Cool. I might be able to get it on the interwebs...Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 4.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85