"Greenland," TY Bello (African Hip Hop, Music to Your Ears - GBB #20)

in #music5 years ago

......."The land is green - it's green. Can't you see?"


Greenland (2007)

A lot of optimistic songs have been written about the future of Nigeria but Greenland stands out for its creativity, specifically for its musicality and the use of symbolism to spread the message of hope to millions of Nigerians across the globe.

TY Bello first released Greenland as a single in 2007 before adding it to her debut album (by the same name) which was released in the following year.

The song immediately became a commercial success, establishing TY Bello's place as one of the formidable voices on the Nigerian musical scene.

In this fine song, TY Bello proclaims Nigeria as a "green land" that is fertile and full of promises for its inhabitants, although the unfolding political and economic situations suggest otherwise.


TY Bello

Born Toyin Sokefun-Bello, TY Bello is a Nigerian professional photographer, singer, songwriter, and philanthropist.

Before she started her solo musical career, she was a member of a gospel band known as Kush.

She came into limelight in 2008 following the release of her wonderful album, Greenland, which delighted several Nigerians who were already losing hope in the future of the country.

TY Bello was the official photographer of former Nigerian president, Goodluck Jonathan. Recently, TY Bello was widely applauded when she found Olajumoke, a female street bread hawker, who bumped into her photo and helped her to secure modelling contracts.

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iP5Hf2cD9fFcj81AqeY6RzGBo1LdZWJoW3NFNaZ9YCW6btqwhKAmjTRcSkMfp3rCySS3nvNQSWA.png
Stand in the rain as the clouds go grey
The thunder roars and the earth sings
The season's just beginning
The sunlight it hides as the clouds make way
For the pouring of my blessings
I will not be afraid

see it now, I understand, I know

So I embrace it
Dance in the rain it's for my seeds to grow
For every prayer and every seed I've sown
The Lord of the harvest knows
I'm reaping back a hundred fold

The land is green - it's green
Ooooh
The land is green - it's green
Can't you see?
The harvest is ready
Cos the Lord of the harvest told me so
It's green - it's green for me
It's green - it's green for me

Standing alone can be a heavy load
But my vows I won't be breaking
Though my heart is aching
I got a word and I won't let go
It's Your will I'm seeking
So I keep on believing

REPEAT BRIDGE
I thought it was over
Thought you were done with me
But we're just beginning oh my life is a journey
I will walk with you
I will go where you want me to
Yes I will go

The land is green - it's green
Ooooh
The land is green - it's green
Can't you see?
The harvest is ready cos He told me so
It's green and it's all mine

This post is part of @majes.tytyty's informative and interesting series. – "Music to Your Ears."  

And please note that @majes.tytyty, except otherwise stated, holds the copyright to all the images used in this post.

SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons presented by @majes.tytyty, and get rewarded with upvotes for your participation.

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  

Sort:  

good post i really like this post

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

There is greenery everywhere, and we are surrounded by it. It's not only on the other side of the fence.

Kudos for Bello for reminding us that we all – and always – live in a GREENLAND.

Glad you liked this entry. There's greenland everywhere. Let's hope that the red land we've found ourselves now in the crypto space transforms into a greenland soon. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95