Grapthar's Song of the Day: The Kinks 'Australia'

in #music6 years ago

download.jpg

The Kinks - Australia

The Kinks formed in 1964

and proceeded to knock down all kinds of barriers, using super heavy, chuggy guitar riffs LONG before metal ever showed up, and incorporating elements classical arranging, including horns, strings and various solo instruments that were unusual for rock and roll at the time. They were actually a part of the famous 1965 British Invasion tour for a short time, but due to fighting between the brothers involved, they got a tour ban, haha.

Listen to Australia by The Kinks here.

This song comes from their 1969

album, Arthur: Or The Decline And Fall Of The British Empire, which is my personal favorite of theirs. They abandoned the simple, garagerock sounds of their earlier tunes (which I love, don't get me wrong), and decided to focus on writing some seriously complicated and intricate music. They incorporate catchy choruses, yet still make every song on the album SUPER interesting, especially if you've never heard it before, it's quite an experience.

Enjoy the song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!


||| EP 1 - Bandcamp | EP 2 - Bandcamp | EP 3 - Bandcamp |||
||| EP 4 - Bandcamp | EP 5 - Bandcamp | EP 6- Bandcamp |||

Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

A little too jazzy for my tastes but good to hear nevertheless, to fill in my knowledge of this great band.

I would have gone to Australia to see The Easy Beats or AC/DC.

There was also some great Garage Rock in Australia. The Black Diamonds and The Atlantics come to mind. I'll probably post music by both of them in my blog eventually. :)

Back to The Kinks, they have a little known song that is admired by the Garage Rock community. I think I'll post it a little later. Thanks for reminding me of this song I'm thinking of now. :)

I wrote my post on The Kinks and credited you as the inspiration, and included a link back here.
https://steemit.com/garagerock/@garagebill/sounds-like-garage-rock-from-the-kinks-twin-spin-2-rare-songs
Thanks again for the Kinks song you shared!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99