'In the Naga Fire Temple' - New Original Music/Unfinished Song Inspired by Steem Monsters! Orchestral/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-02-10 20.14.31.png

This is another tune

inspired by @Steemmonsters, using the same general orchestral/instrumental vibe as the previous 4 or 5 I've shared. This song is far from finished, there are some parts such as the violin melody that I like a lot, but feel a bit cluttered, so they need some work. Overall, I like the change in feeling between the A and B sections, but the transitions between them need to be extended to be a bit smoother. We are in 7/4 here, though each section completes after 2 full bars, so it feels like a slow, steady 14 (particularly the B section, which feels like 8 and 6).

Listen to In the Naga Fire Temple here.

In the A section,

we have a really cool, dark chord progression: Amin, Cmin, Fmin, Gmin to Gmaj. The second time around, we repeat Amin, Cmin, Fmin, but the last bar we have an Fmaj to a Gmaj, before modulating to the key of F#minor for the B section. I think both of these sections work, but they need to have something else going on around them, the change between them is a bit abrupt, particularly out of the A into the B section.

Screenshot 2019-02-10 20.14.39.pngViolin melody, A section.
Listen to In the Naga Fire Temple here.
Screenshot 2019-02-10 20.14.48.pngBrass ensemble, B section.

The timpani track is where

I am least happy with the outcome. I wanted to attempt to make this realistic, meaning limiting myself to 3 or 4 different timpanis max, but unfortunately the timbre of each hit changes depending on the note, so to get a loud, low timpani sound you are limited to certain keys. If I can find some better orchestral percussion, I will definitely be editing this section quite a bit.

I hope you enjoy today's walkthrough and song! Stay tuned, I'll definitely be working on this more and trying to get all the kinks out of it. Also, check out @steemmonsters and join the battle!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

I dig it!!

The violins are like a musical representation of snakes slithering.
The drums and steady march allude to a temple setting.

Well done!

Thanks a bunch! I definitely want to work on it a bit more, some parts don't flow as well as I'd like, but I appreciate the listens man!

Hello @grapthar, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94