'Jarlax's Lair' - New Original Music! 20 Minute Songwriting Challenge/Submission for Splinterlands Contest! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2019-06-08 20.17.31.png

I wanted to combine 2 of my

usual posting shticks, the 20 minute songwriting challenge and a submission for the Splinterlands Music/Lore contest! This one came out pretty decent, I like the general idea for sure; I wanted to initially just have a single, sort of sad and ominous piano part, but then, in typical fashion, I started layering stuff on top and continued till the 20 minutes had elapsed, haha. Let's go through it.

Listen to Jarlax's Lair here.

Track 1 is our piano

which begins the song with the synth in Track 2. The basic chords are as follows: Cminor, Aminor 2x, then we have an Fmajor, to an Eminor (with a cool little passing riff that uses a tritone), to Aminor, then to Abmajor, and finally Gminor, before repeating. Track 3 adds the low cello/bass part, while Track 4 is used to fill in the space with some ambient swelly synths on the 1 of each measure. Track 5 is the electric guitar, which comes in with a dotted quarter note riff, giving us a little more rhythmic interest, and adding some syncopation between this and the piano. Finally, we have Track 6, which I am not too sure about, but it adds some mid/high range strings to harmonize with the chords.

Screenshot 2019-06-08 20.17.42.pngTrack 1, full piano progression.
Listen to Jarlax's Lair here.
Screenshot 2019-06-08 20.17.54.pngTrack 5, guitar line.

I hope you dig this tune, apologies for any weird volume issues, it's hard to focus on the mix AND the songwriting in 20 minutes! Perhaps I'll continue working on this, and try and expand it into a more full length song. In the meantime, check out the other contestants here, and give Splinterlands a try if you haven't played yet, you won't be disappointed!


Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @grapthar! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @grapthar :) | For investors.

Sorry I didn't see this earlier to upvote.....I love it!!!

it's okay, no worries! Thanks, I really appreciate it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64