'Sliced Glass' - New Original Music/Playing Around with New Sounds! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

This is a random tune

that I'm not sure would ever really make the cut to becoming something finalized, but I thought it'd be fun to share. It's got a dancey/retro techno sort of vibe with all the arpeggiated stuff, but we are in 7/8 for most of the tune. In the middle we have a small section of 8/8, but that feels way more offkilter than the 7, which turned out to be a kinda dope effect. Perhaps I'll incorporate these ideas into other more complete songs, or build off certain parts to create something new.

Listen to Sliced Glass here.

Tracks 2 and 3 work together

playing the same, our basic harmony with a little melody line. We are in Bbminor, with the bass descending from Bb to G natural (sharp 6), then to Gb, before repeating. The portion in the middle where we change to 8/8 is where the harmony changes, following a really interesting rhythm that I stumbled upon by accident while just placing kicks initially, then mapping the bass to follow it.

Track 2.

Tracks 4 and 5 add

our bass parts (5) and the trancey beepy synth part in Track 4, which slowly releases the cutoff at the beginning to get that swell effect. Finally we have our drums, which take up 3 tracks here. I was just playing around with different sound combinations, overall I think the idea works, but some of the individual sounds need to be mixed a bit better.

I hope you've enjoyed the walkthrough and today's song! Thanks for checking out my blog, and Steem On!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97