'Spectral Blob' - New Original Music/Playing Around with Sample Clips! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-02-09 20.14.29.png

So this is what I would

consider a failure of a tune, lol. I wanted to use some samples and create something sort of off-kilter, still mapped to a grid, but to feel like it's not. In that task, I think it was successful, perhaps too much so... the off beat portion is just SO obvious that it makes it feel kinda goofy. However, I will always share the failures as well as the successes, so let's go through it!

Listen to Spectral Blob here.

Tracks 1, 2 and 3

provide the weird sounds in the background of the entire tune. Track 4 was a bass sample, but I warped it into a seriously low pitch, slowing it down and making it more background droniness. Track 5 is the synth bass that does the little i, bVii progression, and with our drums in Tracks 6 and 7, filled the role of the off-kilter rhythmic section. Track 7 is just hihats, and uses a slightly swung groove which I think worked well with the strange beat in Track 6. Perhaps I'll keep the drums and abandon the rest, building around those instead.

I hope you've enjoyed the walkthrough! Not sure how much one could enjoy the song, but maybe you will, haha. Thanks for listening!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95