'The Cry of Jarlax' - New Original Music/Submission for Steem Monsters Lore/Music Contest! Electronic/Dark/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-04-09 21.59.28.png

This is a stripped down

version of the song I shared yesterday; I got rid of the beat and some of the random crap in the background, and added a new little rhythmic synth in the low-end to fill things out. It really sounded evil/dark to me, so I decided it should absolutely be dedicated to Jarlax the Undead from Steem Monsters, and become my submission for this week's Lore/Music contest.

Listen to The Cry of Jarlax here.

I decided to double the synth

that is the basis of the song, in addition to altering a bit of it's melody line. The first 2x around it's the same, but for the 3rd and 4th repeat, the first note drops to our Vi, then down a whole step, before the entire thing repeats. I've attached a screenshot below of the tuning automation in those 2 tracks, so you can see how it bends around and creates that dark/evil effect.

Screenshot 2019-04-09 21.59.41.pngTrack 2, tuning automation.
Listen to The Cry of Jarlax here.
Screenshot 2019-04-09 22.04.38.pngTracks 4, melody line.

Track 4 is the melody line

from the previous version of the tune, pictured above. It is expanded to fit with the changes in Tracks 2 and 3. Track 5 is another synth that I added, which swells in at the end of each 10 bar section. I was initially going to add a bunch of tracks like this, that would do a call and response sorta thing, but I didn't like the way it sounded. Finally, we have Track 6 which is the newest track, adding a super low, staccato synth line, that sorta feels a bit like a heartbeat, supplying a slight backbeat.

I hope you enjoy the song! Check out the other contestants here, and support them with some upvotes!


Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @grapthar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1700 posts. Your next target is to reach 1800 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71