'The Red Dragon's Song (Final Version)' - New Original Music for Splinterlands Music/Lore Contest! Orchestral/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 20190808 20.28.06.png

So this is the final

version, ready for submission for this week's Splinterland's Music/Lore Contest! If you didn't see them, I did three previous updates, which you can view if you want to catch up: Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3. I think splitting up the writing actually helped a lot, it gave me a chance to listen to each version quite a bit, and fix a lot of the problem spots. I still wish I had better orchestral samples (esp. brass and woodwinds), but all things considered, they came out sounding pretty decent. I tried my best to get each part to fit nicely within the mix, which I realized was a bit difficult with entire ensembles in one track, so next time I'll probably break up the strings and brass into their individual instrument sections.

Listen to The Red Dragon's Song (Final Version) here.

The big change from

the last update was the snare part. I decided to do away with the double time rhythm after the break, and keep the same general, militaristic snare vibe going. Because the orchestral instruments all have slightly long attacks, I had to pull the entire snare line off-beat by like, 4 or 5 64ths of a beat, which normally is pretty difficult to make sound "real" but here it worked out surprisingly well. If you only saw the first or second update, there are also two new string and brass ensembles, which helped to build to break and break up the repetition of the constant legato parts.

Screenshot 20190808 20.28.25.png

The additional ensembles in the break.

There is also now

a more solid role for the tubular bells. Initially, I had them playing a lot more, but since all the hits rang out for so long, it wound up sounding a bit weird. Now, they just accent the 1 and 4 of each measure in certain parts (excluding the intro and the break), which I think worked a lot better, and gives it a sorta adventurous/medieval vibe.

I hope you've enjoyed the song! Thanks for listening, and support the other contestants in the contest here!!



Follow me on Choon!

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05