'The Royal Dragon-Song' - New Original Music! Submission for Steem Monsters Music/Lore Competition! Orchestral/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago

Screenshot 2019-02-08 20.09.35.png

It's time again for another

submission for the Steem Monsters Music Contest! The new contest has been separated from the visual art component, so if you're interested in the original post/other submissions, I have resteemed it just before this post. I once again went with the orchestral vibe, apologies for the complete lack of woodwinds, unfortunately that instrument pack is 7 Gb and I am out of space at the moment, haha. However, I think the strings and brass work nicely together, it has an epic feeling.

Listen to The Royal Dragon-Song here.

There are 2 main sections

to this song: for the first 3x around at the beginning, we are in 5/4 (our main section), then we have a B section in 7/4 that follows (A section in Red, B in Green/Blue in Tracks 1, 2, and 3). I think the change in meter worked really well here to make both sections distinct. The song begins with just our lower strings in Tracks 1 and 2. Track 4 comes in the second time around adding our first brass parts, then the Violin section in Track 3 joins with the second brass section in Track 5.

Screenshot 2019-02-08 20.09.44.pngTrack 1, lower strings.
Listen to The Royal Dragon-Song here.
Screenshot 2019-02-08 20.09.53.pngTrack 3, Violin section.

Our final group

is the percussion instruments, which includes tubular bells, 2 timpani tracks an octave apart, the cymbal wash, and finally the single cymbal crashes. I wish these orchestral samples were a bit higher quality, when I finally get Miroslav Philharmonik reinstalled, I'm going to re-do a lot of these. I feel like the timpani isn't as impactful as I necessarily want it to be, but for the time being it does a decent job. I also would like to find some snares to use to get a driving, march sort of feeling.

Screenshot 2019-02-08 20.10.19.pngThe Percussion Group, described above.

I hope you've enjoyed the walkthrough and dig the song! Definitely check out the other contestants here and support them with some upvotes!



Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

Epic!👌 I like orchestral music, instrumental.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it, appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93