'Three of Some, Eight of the Other' - New Original Music/10 Minute Songwriting Challenge! Electronic/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 20190811 20.16.23.png

Here's another timed

writing challenge! I gave myself 10 minutes, and wanted to write something a bit more out of the box, so I immediately started things off in 5/8, and decided that I would alternate between holding a chord/note for 1 bar then 2 bars, over and over, which gives this a much more interesting vibe. I basically just started stacking things on top of the first track and the drums, and voila! Just keep in mind, I did very little mixing as I ran out of time, but I tried to fix some volume levels to make it listenable, lol.

Listen to Three of Some, Eight of the Other here.

Track 1 establishes the main

progression/pattern, which everything else is built off. We're in Cminor, and stick to diatonic moves the entire time. Track 2 is our drums, which I think wound up working nicely. The first bar in each section is a basic 5/8 beat, but the second two are filled with little syncopated snare hits, which wound up being pretty sweet. Tracks 3, 4 and 5 all add layers of harmony on top of this, mostly following the same rhythm, though Track 5 plays 2 notes over the 2-bar-held chords, dividing them in half. It also uses a more rhythmic synth, with an LFO sort of thing, accenting 16th notes.

Screenshot 20190811 20.16.34.png

Track 1.
Listen to Three of Some, Eight of the Other here.

Screenshot 20190811 20.17.06.png

Track 5.

Track 6 adds another

rhythmic synth, basically just mirroring the progression in Track 1. These last 3 tracks together really made the song, and I think I'd like to take that full section and expand it into something a bit more complete. Finally, we have Track 7, which uses the "Euro Synth Lead", also a super rhythmic synth, which plays the progression seen below, adding a bit more variation and not sticking to the format of the other tracks as rigidly.

Screenshot 20190811 20.16.49.png

Track 7.

That's it for this one! Considering I only had 10 minutes, I'm stoked with the results, and would definitely like to spend some time on this and make it more of a complete song, so stay tuned for potential future updates! Thanks for listening!




Follow me on Choon! (Currently Down)

Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11