AMBIENT MUSIC - soundscaping loops

in #music6 years ago

Hello everyone. It's a very rainy day here in Croatia and it's perfect for talking about ambient music, loops and soundscaping so sit back and relax with the sounds you are about to hear.

Mag-Slideshow-Rose-Lake-Como-11P6253312.jpg

(here's a picture of the Como lake in Italy. I visited Como earlier this year and for some reason this track reminds me of the foggy, rainy view of the lake we saw when we first got there while on our way to France)

Anyway, me and my bandmates got together the other day and did a one hour session at my place. We cut about 40 minutes of separated material and then decided to review it later and see what kind of editing can be done. The track starts with a simple loop played on a Micro Korg from ''jam no.2'' and it's based on playing around with the pitch shift in 2 octaves.

p18942h-cf28df22be7421263893b4b8bab8b112.jpg

Then, another Korg comes in, from an entirely different part of the jam. I cut it out and put it on top of the first loop. This one has a really soft, airy feel to it and compliments the atmosphere perfectly. These two Korgs ended up as our basis for everything else we were going to put on top.

It just so happened that we had a Warren Ellis signature Eastwood Mandostang that day and we tuned it in D - A - D - G tuning. The Mandostang is this really crazy instrument with only 4 strings that has a feel of the bass guitar but you play it like a normal guitar (only with 4 strings) and it's great for making unstructured loops and all kinds of effect pedals. I made this multi-layer loop on the Mandostang that doesn't really have a structure but is in tune with the Korg.

Eastwood-Guitars_Mandostang_DarkCherry_Right-hand_Full-front-angled_1090x.jpg

These 3 elements - the MicroKorg loops and the Mandostang provided us with a base but the track needed something more. It needed more of a ''human touch'' to it because it seemed a bit too cold. Lucky for us, Dimitrije was in town (I wrote about our unplanned recording session yesterday https://steemit.com/music/@grobens/unplanned-recording-session-dimitrije-dimitrijevic-ponestace) so I decided to ask him to record some vocals. I didn't want him to think about them too much so I said: I'm gonna play you something and just do whatever comes to mind first. That way I knew he was singing from the initial emotion he felt and it was just perfect in the track.

In the end, my drummer insisted on finishing the track with ''some vague sense of a rhythm''. We knew the track was way too unstructured to put a beat on it and since it's comprised of several different takes that were not recorded ''on click'', we needed a specific approach. We ended up simulating the sound of the waves slowly breaking in the shore but not with a snare drum. No. My crazy drummer played a cardboard tube. He figured out that if he moves his palm up and down the tube slowly, it makes a ''calming sea sound''.

gallery-1452281638-gettyimages-71667449.jpg

The track was recorded with a single condenser microphone in the center of the room (except for the Korg - we wanted to have a clean Korg signal so it was recorded via a soundcard) so you can hear us talking and laughing in the background and even clicking on effect pedals with our feet.

Here's the track, I do hope you'll enjoy it!

Sort:  

Micro-Korg is one of the most underrated keyboards in my collection...do you have one of the original ones? I’ve been told they became more cumbersome to make patches for as they revised the design.

I have to ask my bandmate about it, it's her keyboard so I'm not sure

Very nice! I like the soothing but alluring sounds. Makes me feel like sitting at the edge of a monastery that resides on a cliff, me having his feet dangle over the ledge. Feeling comfortably save and relaxed while there is this mysterious charm of playful monks that are passing my back with a little giggle on their minds.

And at the same time there is something at it that expresses the joy and pain of life, like the wind singing to me, telling me how it had passed around the globe and what it had seen. Thank you for unfolding that seven and a half minute story in my head, while I felt like meditating :-)

I'm very glad you liked it :)

Congratulations @grobens, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3478 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5801.65. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

its so cool how connected the world is at this point, like, the fact that im reading your feelings and how its a rainy day in Croatia. Good music by the way, I really liked it, cheers!

yeah, kinda crazy, right? thank you :)

Great post there, keep up good work !

This replay was created using STEEMER.NET Alpha ( support STEEMER.NET / Wallet / Exchange Project here: https://steemit.com/investors-group/@cryptomonitor/steemer-net-steem-blockchain-transactor-for-windows-android-app-funding-update-243-1200-sbd-28-12-2017 )

I love the way you convey the great narration of everything that went behind this piece and how the music goes along with the whole vibe of the article; simply beautiful

I'm glad you like it

Well done, I absolutely LOVE the Micro Korg & your ambient music sounds class. It touches me to read how people can get so lost in music and how we have such strong emotional responses to so many different styles...
I’m a music lover myself, and I listen to a bunch of different genres. I’m also a researcher in psychoacoustics, which is all about the perception and psychology of hearing and our response to music. It’s great to see the talent that’s around. I didn’t realise how Steemit could actually be such a great platform to showcase musical talent.. My earliest posts on Steemit were all about my music, but I completely gave up hope because they got no views or up votes.. It was really discouraging, so I just began posting more generic blogs about cryptocurrencies etc, whatever was hot on the scene… So, I’m really glad the music side of Steemit is working out for you. Maybe some day I’ll get there too! 😅
Music helps me connect to the world emotionally. It’s really so much more than people think.. It’s a journey, and it’s fun to get lost. Anyway, it’s really nice to read that others appreciate it as much as I do.. Enjoy the New Years celebtations, and keep up the good content on Steemit.

Thank you very much for such a beautiful comment!

Good post dear💛⚘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60693.34
ETH 3032.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81