🎛️ Music Production Talk: Lose the Ego

in #music6 years ago (edited)

This is whole philosophy isn't even really exclusive to music production, but boy is it relevant. As I'm constantly running into these situations time and time again, I thought it would be a great subject to touch on and discuss.

Rather than speaking in more of a linear fashion, I'm just going to give you guys a bunch of sort of free-write experiences/scenarios individually that I experience with folks in the music industry, and then maybe try to sum up a closing statement at the end. I'm hoping not to take a chunk out of anyone's self-confidence, as much as I'm trying to offer some honesty about how diluted we can get against how things work in the real world. Sometimes harsh truths are hard to swallow, but doing so results in a much more practical approach to success and happiness.

Over-confidence is built right into some genres by default. Rap, hiphop, pop, rock - all of these sort of 'rockstar status' genres - they breed a frontman (or woman) who is just expected to exude this massive ego. This kind of works when the individual (or band) is very famous and successful with their music, but on a local level it just really doesn't translate. Even more so, in a professional environment. Yet somehow, local artists seem to have no problem wearing this badge of entitlement, just for being an artist.

Trust me, it's not charming.


Image Source

I see this a lot at the studio. Artists that come in unprepared/unpracticed, come in with booze/drugs, food/drink, their entourage, ask for free services/content, etc. All of this extra baggage that really has nothing to do with the service they are about to pay for or the music they are making.

Even when it comes to releasing music, you see musicians/bands who release full-length, 20 song albums on a local level. Full album art booklets, photography, box sets, autographed (that one always makes me laugh a little). C'mon. Look, I have no right to judge, but you're shooting yourself in both of your feet to release something like that at an amateur level. There's really no reason to do this if you are serious about your music other than just self-serving your own ego. I always advise artists to start with a few EPs. They're faster/cheaper to produce, less assets overall graphically and musically to worry about, allow the artist to grow with their music without losing coherency, and the frequent releases (instead of one big one) will keep people's attention.

We get so lost in the title that we sometimes forget why we make music in the first place. If your image is more important than what you're doing musically, you should reevaluate your priorities.

I'm not even just ragging on artists here, because some producers are the same way. I've seen producers try to sell their amateur-level beats made on a pirated copy of FL Studio for thousands of dollars. I've seen producers refuse working in this genre or that genre because it's 'not something they do'. I've seen producers that charge hundreds of dollars per hour to record in their mom's basement on their 5-year old laptop. Point here is that just because you see something done in the higher tiers of the industry you're in, it doesn't mean this model should, or would, apply to you.


Image Source

Even as a whole, musicians inherently chase this idea of 'making it'. So often we are completely blind to opportunity presenting itself right in front of us because we are too busy with the unattainable goal off in the distance. I can confidently say that letting go of becoming 'famous' or 'making it' was one of the best things I could've done for my career.

Over time, I listened to my music, and came to the conclusion that my music (Elpi5) isn't really marketable to the masses. It's a niche genre. It would be silly for me to chase fame off of what I do as Elpi5. Is it bad music? I'd like to think it's not horrible by any means, but giving up on trying to make it into the next Deadmau5 allows me to focus on actually finding some folks who might really appreciate it. It might be a couple hundred people, not thousands or hundreds of thousands, but those people actually matter, as opposed to just casting this horribly wide net that grabs no one. That allows me to build connections and relationships that are actually lucrative.

So what do we do?

I'm not really here to tell you the 'right' way to carry yourself, because I'd be kidding us all if I said I had it all figured out. But my bottom line here is if you're going to do nothing else, humble yourself.

For some reason, when it comes to music we have this completely unrealistic view of how things should work. I watched a great vlog entry by @meno the other day talking about how comparison is a joy killer, or as I've heard it more familiarly, envy is the thief of joy. But these philosophies tend to focus upwards. I think it's equally important not to compare downwards either, or put yourself on a level of entitlement.

We can become delusional in thinking that these pop stars and hot shots are what we should build our model of success after. In my opinion, base your model of success off of any other job or career. Just starting out recording with minimal equipment? Charge enough for you to make minimum wage. Who cares what the big producers in the industry are charging. You're not them. Get the experience first, buy better equipment, and go from there.

We are so afraid of facing these overarching existential truths that make us feel small. On an absolutely grand scale, we are small, no one is special or above anyone else, our weaknesses are abundant, our minds are never full, and our education is never complete. Now, I'm sure some of you are going to chime in about how we all do matter, yada yada, and I would totally agree with you if we're talking on a small, personal scale. If you put human kind under a microscope, you see the cause and effect happening constantly. One person can have a huge impact on another persons' day; life is very fragile and impactful in this way. But on the grand scale, if we were to remove ourselves from the equation in any given scenario, life would find a way to fill that void and move forward.

In my case, if someone didn't find Elpi5 (or any of the other artists I produce) and enjoy what I did, they would've found someone else to like. If @rockchickjen's album and @beardedegghead's EP wasn't getting mixed and mastered by me, they would've hired another producer. If I didn't happen to be conveniently present while @aggroed and @isaria were in need of an in-house producer/sound engineer for Steem Monsters, someone else would've come along to take the job. If Torches Academy didn't exist, all these kids would find another way to learn. Someone else probably would've outlined the same thoughts in another post on Steemit somewhere down the line, if it hasn't happened already. Life halts for no one.


Image Source

Does this take away from what I do? No, of course not. I'm proud of what I do and what I'm capable of. But it makes me grateful to have the opportunities that I have, and to live a life of humility knowing that if it wasn't me, that opportunity would've presented itself to the next producer in line. I come prepared to my jobs, I don't screw around with unnecessary baggage, and above all, my ego will never come before my work.


SLMSBanner.png
You can join the 'Steemit Local Music Society' here:

Click here to join on Discord.


You can follow me and my tunes on Steemit/Choon/Dsound:

@harrisonmir


Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Much appreciated @illuminati-inc, thanks!

Some wise words there mate! I knew a guy that worked at a local recording studio near where I live and said the amount of people that come in to record that are drunk or hi or simply haven’t learnt their parts is simply astounding - it’s frustrating for the engineer who’s obviously trying to do his best to get a good sound out of their clients but on the other hand these people where paying by the hour to be there and kinda ripping themselves off.
It was interesting to hear what you had to say about the whole image thing , I mean every artist needs some kind of image but if it’s anywhe near the top of your priority list then yeah ...like you said.... maybe time to re-evaluate.

Thank you @thomasrobertgent! Yeah dude lol unfortunately a lot of the rant was coming from real life experiences.

but on the other hand these people where paying by the hour to be there and kinda ripping themselves off.

Yeah dude, you nailed it. I just don't understand where they're coming from in that regard lol. I understand everyone is in it for different reasons, and I don't expect everyone to want to make a career out of it, but jeez.

I think image is definitely important, sure, but it's the icing on the cake IMO. If the cake has a bad taste to begin with, the icing likely won't help :).

Great words, really enjoyed reading that, from a amateur bedroom producer using what gear I can get I really connected with the lessons and advice. Btw the picture of the studio , haha classic, I would love to have a go with a setup like that.!

Thanks @thesimpson! Yeah I totally feel that. Nothing wrong with being a 'bedroom' producer. I'm right there with you. In this day and age, honestly there's no reason not to have a home studio, you can do so much with minimal equipment! At this point it's more about just gauging the level of professionalism you can reach with it.

This is a great idea to keep in mind. It's easy to compare yourself to other people by looking at their payouts and their wallets and get discouraged, or even feel superior. That said, I MOSTLY see / hear/ smell? what other people produce and it inspires me to try to learn more, but sometimes that self-doubt does kick in.

Absolutely dude. On the flip side of self-importance is that self-doubt, which I've had far more issues with than the former. I've tried to accept self-doubt as a natural defense mechanism that we have though, and it's okay to let it exist, just not to dictate your forward actions. It goes with the mantra that I live by almost obsessively that identifying your weaknesses is so much more important than identifying your strengths.

But like anything, moderation is key. :)

It's good to have your post. I think that's a great post.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 11 SBD worth and should receive 157 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65