Music collection (continued)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, have a good Sunday!

I have decided this weekend to make yet another post regarding the music I've accumulated over the last quite several months. As you may or may not know, this is a series of posts and that's the reason it is a continued post. In those series of posts I've presented vinyl records, cds and cassette tapes. At this time I have no records to present/show, but I do have cds and cassettes to show as well as the last item at the very bottom of this post is music related however neither of the two mentioned formats :)

Let's jump right away to it by starting with the band Tuber and their first official album work Tuber EP.

This band I had first heard about from my friend @mariossap but I hadn't searched about them back then. After some time had passed a common friend of ours decided to go see them live and returned mesmerized by the musical atmosphere, so he went ahead and bought their digital discography from a well known online platform and then he shared with us the link to download their music for free ourselves, which I did. So, after having listened to their three albums I myself felt completely attracted to such great music.

 

Their music is only instrumental and the style is a great mix of desert/stoner/psychedelic/space/post rock. Since I'm a music enthusiast and a collector I knew that I had to have the album in my collection and I also noticed that the first edition of this album had been sold out (from that same online platform), so a second edition had been released and was up for grabs while items lasted. What a nice surprise, I bought a copy and I'm really happy to have it on cd, even though a vinyl copy was also available. I went for the cheaper option and the price was truly affordable to own a physical copy of the album.  

During the Christmas holidays the band had posted in fb that they were offering a discount code which would last just until the last day of the year for anybody interested to purchase anything of their merch, so it made perfect sense to me to take advantage of it and purchase another album, again on cd, so I went for the third album they've released so far - Out Of The Blue.

In this album the musical style is somewhat different, having added electronic elements too and also playing a bit more alternative and hard rock, but staying consistent in their instrumental music and their psychedelic/space/post rock.

I think I had the intention to get their second album too, but probably I got something else instead, so I'm still missing it. Right now it's still available, but again I've spent some more cash in other purchases that I'm waiting for to arrive, I'll see whether I might get it some time soon.

Next band coming up are Clouds and the album presented Doliu.

I came to know about Clouds from a sponsored ad in fb and it certainly caught my attention when I first heard a song from them, I can't remember exactly which one I heard, but it was enough to make me search about them and their music. Fortunately, now with the internet and especially with certain dedicated music torrent sites, one can have all the music that he/she wants for free, so I went ahead and downloaded their discography. This album is a complete delight to listen to. Melodic Funeral Doom metal here at its finest.

My thought was to get my hands on a physical copy of this great debut album of theirs but it had been sold out by the time I had discovered it. The next step for me was to start following the band in fb and one day their frontman who's dealing with their fb page made a post that the band had discovered a little stock which was available to my surprise for grabs. That was an awesome chance to get a copy, I messaged Daniel and we made the payment arrangements. Unfortunately the time was passing by and I did not receive the album, I messaged him again through their fb page, I was willing to wait for some more if that meant to finally receive it in my hands. Sadly, more time passed and still nothing, so I had no choice to message him again and ask for a refund, which he did very politely, I did get a refund and used that money to buy a couple of other albums presented already in previous posts. 

The particular edition presented here is different than the Youtube cover art shown, it's a second edition of the album, it's actually a handmade digipack with printed full black vinyl retro style cd and the release is from the band themselves and not through any record label. When I became aware of this edition, I didn't think twice to place an order for it. I had another chance to finally get it in my hands. Again the shipment was delayed in regard to the initial release date that was announced, but they were keeping us the followers informed about the progress of shipments of their other merch, during the Christmas holidays things are slow, not to mention that because much of their merch is handled by themselves, it can be a hard work to package all the incoming orders and start shipping them out. I again messaged Daniel to ask whether this edition had been shipped out, telling him that I hoped it hadn't been shipped, because I hadn't received anything. There wasn't any problem, I received it after a week.

Moving forward, next band to present are Wolfheart and I have two albums to show, second in the band's discography is Shadow World.

This band has been a recommendation from a good friend with whom we always discuss music when we meet for a coffee, but again I hadn't searched about them to get to know their music. That was a mistake, actually only recently I got in touch with their music and immediately the music captivated me.

This is the kind of music that makes me the music enthusiast that I am and it makes sense to try and get such albums to add to my collection. I usually order most of the stuff online, but this time I got this and the next to present album from a local store chain in normal prices.

The other album by Wolfheart and third in their discography is Tyhjyys.

Unfortunately the store I got it from doesn't have their great first album available at all for purchase, I'll have to get that online too. The band have released four albums so far, the fourth album is my least favourite so I'm in no hurry to try to get it soon, various releases keep bombarding the collectors most of the time and I've already placed some orders that I'm waiting for them to arrive.

Next band coming up are Lucifer's Child and the album is the second in their discography so far - The Order.

As one can see from the cover art and the band's name, the concept here is the occult and the musical direction Black metal.

I had read about this band some time back, because I believe the founding member George Emmanuel was until very recently also the guitarist of the most famous greek band Rotting Christ. However I didn't get into this band's music at the beginning since my musical attention was elsewhere at the time and also I didn't like this satanic profile that is so much being portrayed. However, I do like some black metal and being a member of various music torrent sites, I saw that this release was available to download, I got it and listened to it. I actually liked it quite a lot and that led me to search for their record label so I would get it directly from there. Indeed, their label at the time were offering free shipping, so I only payed for the album in a normal price and after a bit of waiting time, I received it. 

Coming up next are three albums, two albums of which I have presented before since I've already got in vinyl. However I've liked the band's music so much that I had to get the cd versions of those albums too. The spanish label that has re-released those albums, released them on vinyl for the first time and the cd versions are re-releases. It offered them individually as well as in a bundle (all three) and I got the bundle. The band is Rapture and the albums are in chronological order of release - Futile

Very nice melodic doom/death metal in their debut album, this is the one I've already got on vinyl in Limited Edition / Blue colour  

Second studio album being Songs for the Withering

This one I've only got in cd version shown here, still missing the vinyl version, maybe some time I'll get it in vinyl as well.

And their third and last album being Silent Stage.

This album is as well one I got on vinyl too in Limited Edition / Clear colour

I love all three of those albums, they hold a special place in my mind and heart and they do a great job in keeping me entertained while listening to them.

Last cd album to present here at this time is by the band On Thorns I Lay and their last album so far - Aegean Sorrow.

This band has had a history in the greek metal scene, however I haven't had any connection to their music at all, but in this new work of theirs. I somehow read about the release and listened to the self titled track of the album and liked it a lot. The musical style is Doom/Death metal and it's certainly among my favourite styles of music. The record label that released the album both in cd as well as in vinyl format is again the same spanish label mentioned above, however I got this album from an independent retailer over here locally. 

The band appeared in a doom festival over here a few months back, but I couldn't go due to work duty, however I have in mind to attend the next one where Clouds presented above towards the top have announced that they're going to appear. 

Well, the albums are going to keep coming, however some albums are going to be presented in cassette tape format. Without any particular order, first band to come up are At The Gates and the album At War with Reality.

I've said in my previous post about my music collection that the good thing with cassette albums is that it's the cheapest way to get an album that you like. Since I'm also a cassette collector, when I discovered that this album was released in such format in limited quantity, I started looking for it to try and get one myself. Firstly I found a retailer in the U.S, but then I discovered a record label and retailer in Europe, in a very nice and cheap price, so right away I ordered it and I sure got it :)

At The Gates also appeared over here live some months back but again I didn't go to see them live, reason was either money related or work again, I'm not sure now.

Next band to take their turn are Tiamat and the album shown is their last one so far - The Scarred People.

This album like the one just above presented are albums that I didn't have at all in collection, so for me to have them even in cassette format makes me just as happy as having them on cd. When I again discovered that this album would be released in cassette tape for the first time, I immediately thought to make an order to get it. I discovered the label that would release it and sent through their fb page a message about whether I could pre - order it, since they had announced the scheduled release, but they didn't have the pre - order option. The owner replied back to me that I could register to their newsletter and when it would be available I'd know. So I did, the newsletter announcement came out that it was available to order, I ordered it and got it.

The tracklist here also includes the four bonus tracks, just like the original limited cd digipack edition.

Another cassette album I decided to purchase is by the band 1914 and the album is their second and latest so far - The Blind Leading the Blind.

This band again is one I didn't know before this album or maybe I had seen the year (1914) that they've got as a  band name. I got in touch with the album probably by reading about it and having listened to a track and obviously I liked what I heard, so again I downloaded their album digitally and enjoyed it very much, so the next move was to place an order. Of course there were the other music formats available to order, but again, the cassette is the cheaper way to get an album and I happily ordered the cassette.

The band's name and whole concept is around WWI. 1914 was the year that the Great War as it has been known started and all the songs in this album talk about the atrocities that took place, all the fucking brutalities mankind had to deal with. And as their frontman has stated, that war was the war the choices from which are haunting Europe up to today.

So just before hitting the end, I still have one last item to present and this item is a comic book. This comic book is dedicated to the band Rotting Christ and it contains two separate stories.

 

The first story as it says on the cover page is called Storming The Gates Of Heaven. This story starts with the band together as a team talking and anyway the building where they're in collapses creating a large and deep crater where the building used to stand, and down that crater is Hell. So our heroes find themselves now in front of Satan and the story goes on. 

In the above photograph it shows the group being in charge of God since they wanted to open the Gates of Heaven to talk to God, but the angels and Saint Peter who's the one to welcome the dead in Heaven didn't just let them talk to God and the angels fought them, so did Michael the Archangel, but eventually all angels are now dead or broken.  

The second story is based in ancient Greece.

I don't know why the above cover page before the start of the second story, it doesn't say the title of this second story. Anyway, the second story is showing the band's frontman Sakis as a baby and the goddess Athena shows up to show her annoyance that his parents haven't payed their tribute to her at this happy occasion of birth. So she curses the baby to forever having to confront the slain enemies as it's saying of Greece. I think it means to forever having to confront undead enemies, zombies I believe.

When I discovered that such a comic book would be released, I was really interested to get my hands on it and have a close look at it. In this case I again saw a post in fb from the team behind this comic book that they were offering a discount code for anyone interested to purchase either the standalone comic book, or a few other bundles being offered, since very recently the band has released a new album too, an album that I've pre - ordered again in cassette tape format, all other editions of that album are of course already out from the 15th February that the album has been released. 

Anyway, here we've come to the end of this post, thank you for staying until the end, please leave me a comment below if you want and/or upvote the post if you liked it. If you believe a resteem works for you, kindly resteem it as well. Kind regards and have a good week ahead.


Sort:  

Ooooooo~ This is a first I see of any music collections. I've been wondering and finally have this off my checklist of discoveries for anyone committing to documenting their music collections and taking the time to discuss about them. So with that outta the way, seems like a whole slew of things to see and watch, so let's get cracking!

I swear, the Tuber EP (sex and depression) really reminds me of "I'm a COWBOY, YEAH!" but yet it's own thing with drums, guitars and maybe some electro/techno in the background (maybe confusing that for an electronic guitar, don't forgive me I am tipsy~). Quite something that I like and something mainstream music should seek to getting back into (of course with vocals since it does help build layers for those that pay attention). Regardless, this first track does really live up, muiscally, to the joyrides of sex and the slogging troughs of depression (hell when it does get "low" I can hear static that feels like drugs are being consumed or just undying rage that later comes to life in that faint shrill. Quite interesting, but there's a million and one things here and I shall come back to give it a properly respectful hearing when I do get the chance.

Now that's an interesting story for that "Out of the Blue" Tuber track. I think your writing here does enough describing as it is. But must I draw a comparison to ID's DOOM OST (which definitely did do MIDI conversions to avoid copyright, not saying that Tuber does, just wanted to point that cultural fact out)? It really does feel "out of the blue" from the instrumentals used, the pacing and "story" of the song, how it presents itself and the general passion exuding off from each beat. Like we are "out of the blue" doing something, high action, high stakes, no more cares as we accept the price for something is the action we're commiting now and carrying the greatness forward because "nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion" as GWF Hegel would say it. Also the midway point, instead of the end, to suddenly change everything / flip the tables is something "out of the blue."

Diolu (by Clouds) is definitely those moody (can be done well at times) Metals. Of course, this is "Heaven was Blind to my Grief" - yet this song (if I hadn't heard the rest which I most certainly haven't) is definitely a greatly executed moody Metal (sorry Melodic Fueneral Doom Metal, yet let's be real here and agree it's moody and made us cry ;-;). From the first act that gets caught on by the singer, with all the supressed riffing at the background to the somber tone. Which then gets caught by the second act with the piano, the "deep" voice definitely kicking us all awake (parallel to Satan/devilry definitely hinted at here) from our somber tones. As with that we get to act three, with the voice definitely sounding zombie/groaning, just the pure anguish and terror along with the rage boiling inside the (as I shall refer right now) second singer. Definitely a listen people need to ear in on; probably contingently covers well your feelings during the entire process of getting the track XD

The next two by "Wolfheart" definitely strikes the cord of all Metal heads out there. The first playing around with "the peaceful life" ideals to the sound wacky roller-coster that life can be when the heavy riffing gets on board to happen. The second song definitely what I come to expect from Metal in general while also being nice (when we think in term of Video Games and how epic those struggles can get; or in fighting competition of any a kind).

Lucifer's Child "El Dragón" was probably the first to caught me off guard as it was already jumping the roller coster with its Black metal and just wanting to tell the story. But yeah, stock standard for Black metal and quite nice to hear some Black metal at this point of my music eclecticism.

On the Rupture albums songs presented, I will just agree with what's said here for all three songs, very melodic and doomy/death-y in all three in some way, shape or form. (And by now I've come to realize how much "deep" voices are used in association with doom/death metal songs.)

Following a general trend with the rest, I was banging my head for some of them and just enjoying my days of exploring the general Metal Head sphere while I still could before YouTube started purging copyrighted songs left-n-right. Probably what caught my eyes is the 1914 band and the cover art for the "Scarred People" album (the latter definitely reminding me of Thief 2's Mechanist faction). But yes 1914, really does tap into the Great War / WWI spirit, so death-y, metallic and definitely deserving a listen.

Finally comics! c: - Gotta say that it feels like I'm seeing visually Super Hero comics, yet it's own thing with something very mature (in the violent kind of course). Hell the æsthetic and lines look interesting enough to the naked eye, so it probably is a good read (if I only had time...)~

So happy collectin' and happy steeming!

Thank you for your comment. Nice to read your thoughts about the music. Just to comment on your thoughts, I like Tuber instrumental only as they are, it's funny that when a good friend invited us to his apartment one day and we put this music on Youtube to listen to while sitting there, he wondered where the vocals are after a while, maybe it sounds incomplete to some people without vocals? It matters not really, we all enjoy different things and it's all good.
About Clouds' music, yes indeed the music is purposefully made about loss and grief, this is their musical identity.

Welcome for the comment! ~^^~
Thanks for sharing yer collection and making us hearing some good ol' Metal! Rock on!~

You have a nice collection of music on different support. I was talking with a friend of mine the other day and we were saying that cassettes, CDs and vinyl discs are going to disappear soon. Collectors on the other hand are trying to get all they can. You're lucky to have such a collection, although that's not luck, it's dedication and hard work. Congratulations!

Thank you for your nice comment. I don't really think that physical copies of music are going to disappear. There always going to be people who want to have them in collection. Surely these things fluctuate, sales go up and down, but I don't see it happening any time soon at least. That's because there are people who continuously put effort to keep it alive. As long as there are such people it won't disappear. Also a physical copy earns value in time. All people involved in collecting know that. Also I think musicians and bands won't like physical copies to disappear. Imagine being in a group, wouldn't you like to see your work recorded in a physical copy? There are such dedicated people and music lovers out there that for any record label to close down, a new small independent is going to open and that's true in all music formats, it's already happening. Let's see what the future holds :)

hi @ hellene8
I must say that I am not a music expert at all but I really liked your post, because you connected the music to all your feelings and the facts that I rotated around an album or the order of the cassette! Very nice to follow your thoughts. For those who mean instead, I imagine this is a nice idea to listen to more music !! Congratulations and thanks for sharin

Thank you for your nice comment. I'm not a music expert myself either, I just have a passion in music and it gives me a motivation to make a post, since otherwise I'm not really a blogger of any kind :)

Hi hellene8,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @hellene8! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45