Stranieri

in #music5 years ago

These days, there seems to be an on-going slump on this platform. Don't know whether it's the markets, the cold winter or something else, but people seem to be around here less and less. Not judging or anything, I'm including myself in all that. No idea what it is...

Anyway, for a few days now, I've been thinking about beautiful languages (perks of the trade, I suppose), I've been listening to a lot of music, in various languages and recently stumbled upon this gem >


Maneskin - Torna a casa

As you can see, the name of the song is 'Torna a casa' (Return Home in Italian) and it strikes me what a beautiful phrase this is. It's the equivalent of come back or come back home and yet those don't sound nearly as lovely to me. There's something about that 'casa', which is the same word we use for home in Romanian.
There's this bit that I just love, where the singer shouts

Prima di te ero solo un pazzo, ora lascia che ti racconti
Avevo una giacca sgualcita e portavo tagli sui polsi

which basically translates to this

Before you I was just a lunatic, let me tell you now
I wore a creased jacket and cuts on my wrists

But it's not the same, there are nuances of language that you can only understand from the Italian version. It is technically the same, but it's not as...musical, as enticing. You can barely understand their beauty having learned the language as a foreigner (like in my case).

There are so many wonderful languages in this world, it seems a crime that we, as poor foreigners, fight so hard to speak English and sound cool. I love English, don't get me wrong, but lately, it just leaves me cold. There is great beauty in English, but it's become so common and so pathetically universal that it seems to have lost appeal.

It's a pity really.

You can translate things in English, but so much beauty is lost. Wouldn't you rather try and learn the language? It would make you see so much more beauty...

Why are we letting our cultures become erased so easily? Why do we all strive to use the same word for crazy? It's not the same word and in each language, it carries its own past and meaning. How blind can we be? We're trying so hard to blend in, we forget what a pleasure it is to stand out.

Back to my music. A presto, sconosciuti :)

Grazie mille,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Yes, certainly seems a decline in the platform. I even see less posting about steemmonsters but maybe that's because how much more can be written about how a person won some virtual cards with cartoon pictures on them. The quality is down also...I mean you read my Australia sends prairie dog to Eurovision blog right? Point in case.

Still, some are around. I have posted everyday as always and whilst I am a lowly, unimportant user in the grand scheme of things, I feel happy with my own consistency and enjoy the process of writing despite not getting anything else out of it. I also see a few champs that I follow still posting here and there reasonably consistently and that makes me feel good about them. It makes me feel that they may not just be there for monetary gain and actually enjoy what they do.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the quality being down is also because people are burned out. I mean seriously, no one can have an interesting, complex subject to write about every single day, can they? I know I don't...

I enjoy it too, writing I mean of course, though I'm also busy working on a new book and all, so Steemit is kinda suffering a bit..Oh well, comes and goes I guess Hey, if people don't enjoy writing, that's their loss. It's cathartic, it's good for their brains, so...as you say, better than and not us :) Glad you're still around, by the way!

EDIT: aaah just saw a SteemMonsters post. There we go...

I think the quality being down is also because people are burned out. I mean seriously, no one can have an interesting, complex subject to write about every single day, can they? I know I don't...

Every post should be about Steemit and steemmonsters. Easy.

Posted using Partiko Android

good to have you back! we need contributers to keep the platform going

Thanks... I guess. SInce I've been posting every day, I don't really understand where I've been, but you know, nice of you anyway.

This place indeed looks like dead, but it's just a seasonal thing. Euphoria comes and goes always in the places where emotion reigns, and Steemit is quite a place where that happens.

Also, I have come to like English quite a lot, certainly not as "poetic" as the Latin languages, but it has its grace.

Yes, I suppose it will come back in bloom in spring or whenever :) Or when the prices rise again!

I like English too, but you're right, it's just not as beautiful as Latin languages. Funny to think I used to be really in love with English. I see that more and more in non-native English speakers, a need to master it, as if that will give them some sort of superior status. It's a pity most learn, but forget to appreciate their own languages.

Yeah, that's a modern vice, today everyone loves what others have, and forget what they have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75