Music Jukebox #7 – Office Music

in #music6 years ago

You may know that I am a civil engineer and I have a technical office here in Athens.

But did you know that our office has its songs ? Some pieces of music that have a certain backstory related to us ?

Here are those songs.

This is a song from the 80s that pays tribute to Jazz singer Ella Fitzgerald, but in Greek sounds exactly like “come”. So, whenever someone asks me “Should I come to the office or to go X?” and needs to come to office I sent this song.

The message is loud and clear. You should come to the office. So, this is our funny little communication code.

We have young people in the office and they get stressed very easily when they are encountering situations for the first time or getting out their comfort zone.

“Ohhhh, Mr Ilias, what are we going to do ?” and stuff like that. Experience comes in handy in these situations and 99% it is nothing to really worry about. So, I put this song…

And in the end everything works out fine. This is another 80s song and it stayed so many weeks in No1 in the charts that it got into my nerves. For some reason I used to follow charts that time.

I am working with young people and they don’t know these songs and their reaction the first time they hear is priceless. I wish I could catch their expressions.

To be honest our office doesn’t have any more songs with a backstory, but I won’t leave with only two songs. Let’s stay in the 80s and remember some of the songs we used to listen back then.

Belinda Carlisle was a beautiful redhaired American singer and this is the hit from her second album “Heaven on Earth” (1987).

Kim Wild is a British singer and this one comes from her fifth album “Another Step” (1986) and actually is a cover of a 60s song first performed by The Supremes.

And there is a metal cover as well. Yes, we metalheads love 70s-80s pop/disco even though we started to admit it only in the recent years.

Hey, do you have songs with funny stories?

Share it in the comments.

Listen to music , enjoy music …

Play loud and STEEM ON !!!

footer.png


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

I really like your choice of songs! Once again I am convinced of your impeccable taste!

Hi @iliasdiamantis!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.221 which ranks you at #2702 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #113.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

i have a nice memory with that first song Ella of a talentshow on a camping when I was young, that I saw a girl dance to it and she was sooooo talented.!

In one of my older workplaces we would always start our tuesdays with this song while preparing.... you get it ;)

It would be fun to start our Tuesdays with this song, even though I believe we are motivated enough.

Thanks for sharing @karinxxl . :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58