New Grade 5 Wind Ensemble Piece - The Edge!

in #music4 years ago

The Edge.png

Hello! I haven't posted on Steemit in quite a long while, but with the recent coronavirus pandemic, I have more time to be able to update you all on what's been happening.

First thing, the Woodson Percussion & Publishing Company I was with was dissolved last January, so I am no longer with them anymore. With that said, I am continuing to publish my music on JWPepper, the music retailer for all things music education, through their branch program called My Score. You can check up on all my other pieces on JWPepper My Score through the links below.

But now I want to present you one of my latest pieces!
Experience an energy you haven’t felt before! Imbued with lively rhythms, heart- pounding melodies, and electrifying percussive action, this exciting score will leave both the audience and musicians breathless. This dynamic composition uses the power of each instrument section to fill the music with constant animation from beginning to end. The phrase “edge of your seat” has never been truer than now.
The Edge - Cover Page.jpg

I'm happy to release this new wind ensemble piece, The Edge! This is a Grade 5 Concert Band work with a duration of about 5 minutes. By grade 5, I mean medium-advance difficulty. For those that don't know the grading structure for concert band pieces, the basic charts goes by the following:

Grade 1-2 | Easy [Beginning Level]
Grade 2-3 | Easy-Medium [Beginning to Intermediate Level]
Grade 3-4 | Medium-Medium Advance [Intermediate to Advance High School Level]
Grade 5 | Advance [Advance High School - College Level]

So this piece is about a Grade 5 level. Advance high school ensembles have the potential to play this, but most college level ensembles should have the capability to play this. It's a huge learning curve for those band teachers who want a challenging work for their students to prepare them for college-level performances.

A picture of the first few measures of this piece.
Screen Shot 2020-04-26 at 11.38.23 AM.png

You can listen to this work here at


For more info on this work, check out this link: https://www.jwpepper.com/11202181.item#/submit

I hope you enjoy this recording of The Edge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48