Where There's Smoke...

in #music6 years ago

A quick demo of a song created for a Musical Theatre project I'm working on called The Tikbalang and Me (Incidently, this is first ever steemit post).

Where There's Smoke

By J. A. M.

smoke.jpg

The Tikbalang and Me is an experiential learning project that will culminate in a one-act, musical theatre and multimedia production intended for a target audience of grades 6 - 8 students in Toronto, Canada. Additionally, the project will result in a recorded album, a graphic novel and/or an animated film adaptation.

eye-3048526_640.jpg

The Tikbalang is a creature from Philippine folklore that tends to lead travelers astray. For the purpose of this project, "The Tikbalang" becomes a central metaphor for the impulse (in all of us) to avoid problems and to escape from reality.

Stay tuned for more about this project in the days to come.

WHERE THERE’S SMOKE
I see smoke - Rising through Balete trees
I see smoke - Bet you’re sending me a sign
I see your red eyes, cigars, great Kapre
Where there’s smoke

I feel smoke - Huddling here beside your fire
I feel smoke - Cloaking me from harm
I feel it wrapping its arms around me
Where there’s smoke

Higher / Higher / Higher / Higher / Fire

I smell smoke - Sending up a warning flare
I smell smoke - But it’s choking the alarm
I smell a burning it’s deep inside me
Where there’s smoke (3x)
Smoke

Sort:  

Congratulations @jampresents! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That's pretty cool! Nice to bring some Philippine folklore to elementary kids in Toronto.

Congratulations @jampresents, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Check my post dear i am ur new friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60845.74
ETH 2912.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67