Cambodian Music School Tour + George Michael, Motorbikes And A Lovely Owl. Exclusive to Dtube.

in #music6 years ago (edited)


Greetings fellow Steemians.
Today I bring you a special episode of Grab Your Pick and give you a little insight into my working life here in Phnom Penh Cambodia.

Firstly I may apologize for the camera quality. I had a small motorbike accident a few months back and the main back camera lense of my new phone came off the worst, luckily.
So I have been using the front camera and clearly.. It's crap.
Am trying to save for a proper camera for consistent credible viewing.

The Music Arts School is a privately funded school/workshop located in the heart of Phnom Penh.
The school promotes the development of local youth through music and creative outlets.

Through this development, the students will hopefully lead the way toward a better life for themselves and create new opportunities in the future.

I have taught guitar here for over 2 years and have met many students from different parts of the world.
I am always welcomed by Bong Sothea's (manager) big lovely smile and his love for animals is as strong as mine.

In this video, I will introduce myself and give you a little tour around the school.
The birds you will see behind the school have been rescued by Sothea and he is helping them back to good health.
Many people here treat animals like they are a nuisance and I see lots of animals neglected.
It breaks my heart to see a creature that has never felt love before. And most of them have not.

Take this baby owl for example.
Sothea drove past a small house in the countryside here on the outskirts of Phnom Penh and spotted the owl tied up, malnourished, injured and in a state of neglect.
He, later on went back to the house and offered a cash amount for her.
They agreed on $25 and the owner took the money in exchange.

Now it was a right shock to come to the school and see her sitting there but she is in a much better place and is getting back to good health.
God knows what happened to her beak. Looks like a sharp blow was given by the previous owner or she knocked it into something, but dang the wings are all clipped horribly and she is a mess man!!
I will keep Y'all updated on her progress :)

So That's me in the school.
I will document my outside life in later times

Anyway on with the lesson!
Here is an easy one today. Major 7chords!

Now take the scale, major it must be..
Play any chord and the 7th note up the scale tree.
Add it to the chordal position and clamp up well
You cannot hear with your eyes, but your ears will tell.
Yeew :)

Get it good!
Play guitar every day!
Cheers,
Jeff

Oh yeah, the little piece of music you heard at the beginning is my original instrumental fingerstyle composition titled Easy Rider.
It tells the tale of a train journey travelling up the coast of West Cornwall, finally coming to a stop at platform 3 in the grand city they call London. Haha
See if you can feel it!
https://musicoin.org/nav/track/0x5db01fc18bace1e4d73df299fecd4eae1b1aa746

Previous Dtube Grab Your Pick!
https://steemit.com/boombox/@jeffandhisguitar/0s50th88

Grab Your Pick LOCATION lesson! lol ( bloody bus stop)
https://steemit.com/boombox/@jeffandhisguitar/xtf90jeh

Golden Temple Jam out!
https://steemit.com/artzone/@jeffandhisguitar/21c6nt0m

Cheers for the support and Yeew to my new subs!
Peeeace.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Be good for the owl, it'll give you back the care and loving ;-) Nice music!

Cheers lulu.
A magical creature that brings mystery.
Peace.

Hey Jeff, great to get an idea of what life is like for you out there. I think you have odne remarkable well given the events that have befallen you. Time for pheonix to rise up and with you great talent I am sure you will be living a more lavish lifestyle, though I suspect your humitlity will add a measure of restraint. Lovely stuff, thank you for sahring this.

I could never imagine living the life with mansions and Lamborghinis mate..
If I did, I would share my experience with the world and be very civil with it.
The best car I have ever owned was a 2004 Ford Mondeo.. It had a six speed gear box man!! I managed to buy it off of the old Taxi company I used to work for, for 1000 pounds.
130,0000 miles on the clock when I bought it...
I had to scrap it before I left for Asia...Freekn gutted man.
I have never sniffed at any luxurys this world has to offer :(
I have a tick list as long as my leg :)
Maybe one day bru :)
Thanks for you kind words.
Humbled man.
x

thats crazy, cuz the worst car I ever owned was A 2004 Ford Mondeo!! (so m uch wrong with it)... They saw me coming :)

Cheers masumkhan lol
What was your favourite bit?

You got a 3.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jeffandhisguitar!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

life in the sun, lucky man :))

Starting to take it a little bit for granted now mate, but it is amazing to walk around at home in cacks all day.
Even 3am outside is warm enough in just a pair.
Love it lol

Romantic music

Nice video my good friend =)

Cheers Todd bud!
Hope you are well brother!
Massive fist bumps sent across the seas man.
Will catch up soon.
Cheers.
[

Interesting music school tour and its supporting

I am very happy to be friends with you, may I ask please teach me to make a post as good as you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93