Queen - Still Ace In Our Hearts

in #music6 years ago (edited)

queen2 copy.jpg

The interminably gifted Freddie Mercury once said,

“I won’t be a rock star. I will be a legend.”

As the lead singer of inarguably one of the greatest rock bands of all time - Queen, legendary he was. Along with Brian May, Roger Taylor, Paul Rodgers, Mike Grose, John Deacon, Barry Mitchell, Doug Bogie, et al, they made more than just beautiful music together… They made history.

Borne of pure passion, genius, diligence and infinite musicality, Queen defined the age of Classic Rock with its unintentional ‘something-for-everyone’ approach and their ability to defy the mundane. Decades later, they still possess an unconquerable artistry that influences creative minds of old and young alike, posthumous fame notwithstanding. Queen created something that few rock bands have accomplished before or hence: relatability through the melodic science of music. Queen reinvented the genre, changing the game and the face of Rock forever.

Whether you’ve sought their recordings, purchased an album, downloaded their music – or not – I guarantee at one point in your life or another, you were a “Killer Queen;” you’ve either been a “Fat Bottomed Girl,” or heralded one as “Somebody to Love.” What about the criteria for a catchy, timeless soundtrack to a geeky, superhero cult classic like Flash Gordon; what better falsetto to render the apt, campy accompaniment than that of the golden pipes of Mr. Mercury’s?

There’s nary an athletic assemblage of revelry that doesn’t warrant the rhythmic chanting of “We Will Rock You” or a prideful rendition of “We Are the Champions.” The tinkling keys of “Under Pressure” have been sampled and imitated many times over; while the lyrics of “Another One Bites the Dust” is just deliciously macabre, and “You’re My Best Friend” is memorable for all the right reasons. Still, not much else on Earth compares to the likes of the extraordinarily harmonic revelation that is “Bohemian Rhapsody."

Freddie dreamed, Queen executed, magic transpired. Perhaps the most recognizable in the band’s catalogue, “Bohemian Rhapsody” remains one of music history’s most lyrically complex, masterfully produced songs. It accomplishes the rare feat of making its listener elated, pensive, angsty and replete – all at once – and inexplicably happy to do so. Love it or misunderstand it, but there’s no denying that it is the quintessence of an eternal masterpiece.

Certainly, any artist can produce a track that matches your mood. Music, like much else, is relative. However, the music of Queen has continually and successfully transcended generations, appreciation and the ages; encouraging any person who could hear, how to sit down, listen and think, and how to stand-up, shout and dance. A more beautiful, rare, uninhibited and celebratory version of lyrical storytelling just doesn’t exist, and it is still rivaled and still revered, to this day.

Thanks, Freddie… You rock!

What is your favorite song by Queen and why? You can leave it in the comments!

Thank you, @johntkd, for challenging me to write a review of a band I enjoy! I hope you really liked this article. :)

Much love,
@jennifer78

Join me and many others on discord for #steemschools where you can earn as you learn how to navigate steemit! https://discord.gg/TaZFW5r

Sort:  

"Let me live" is my favorite. Recorded after his dead. Remind me that his music gonna live forever.

Crazy Little Thing Called Love

Of course it is, I have great taste in music as you do not! I'm being funny and you know this, man!

You are silly! I know what movie that is from but it is not registering at the moment! Too much going on at the moment. Am on a short break trying to get some comments in! I hope you have been commenting today @vernonbaker!

Such an insightful post! I loved learning something new about the legendary rock band; Queen rocks! Thank you for taking your time and sharing with us this info, Jennifer!

Thank you @liverussian for reading my article! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

I don't think there will ever be a "voice" like Freddies... the man had a way that hasn't been since equalled. I love all of Queens music, but I'm partial to "We Are The Champions" It is almost an anthem its so popular!

@skiponline Yes! It is! It is still played at many ballgames and sporting events as well as 'We Will Rock You'. I remember first hearing We Will Rock You at pep rallies at school and doing the "stomp stomp clap" in the bleachers to get revved up for a big game against our opponents!

Very impressive review of the legendary rock band...
I love all the songs of Queen...
Cheers!😀🥂❤

Thank you @zaimrofiqi! I have many favorite classic rock bands, and Queen is very high on the list!

Now you are talking my kind of thing, girl@

Bohemian Rhapsody!

Where have you been hiding? You need to post! No excuses for that! haha I will be getting onto all of you because I brought you on steemit to make money and you aren't putting in any effort! But yes, Bohemian Rhapsody is a great song! I love it! And I love how Freddie Mercury never really said what the song was about, only left it to our imaginations for us to determine!

  1. "One year of love" (A kind of Magic) - most beautiful ballad + saxophone solo

  2. "Sheer heart Attack" (News of the World) - i love this song :)

@ahmadzamzami favorite song on the queen album We Are the champion and Love Of My life.

@ahmadzamzami Both are excellent songs! Thank you for sharing your favorites with me!

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Under pressure is one of my favorite but BOHEMIAN RAPSODY FOREVER. This was a great post @jennifer78 congradulations and very good songs the chosen ones :) bravo!

@johntkd Thank you! I like Under Pressure as well. What did you think of the cover of it that was done by My Chemical Romance?

I didn't like it, I find awfull the fact of someone trying to imitate Freddy Mercury jajaja... He's a legend to me! but I like my chemical romance.

Ok. We can still be friends! :) And the fact that Vanilla Ice said he didn't rip it off for one of his songs still makes me ill.

Me too, believe me. There will be a Queen series jen! I'll wach it

Can't wait! I feel like this is a series of "Bring it On". But I don't want that kind of pressure! haha I don't want to compete, but this helps get thought processes going.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63