Heading out to play once more

in #music5 years ago (edited)

20190706_111108.jpg

July 4th was at "Arbor Terrace of Decatur"
Today is "Laurel Grove, Five Forks Trickum Rd" in Lawrenceville Ga
Monday, I'm back at AT/Decatur
Then I have a weeks break, and on to play again at
Presbyterian Village/Austell, the "Hearthstone Memory care" section.
20190706_111026.jpg

"Hey hey, I'm off to play"

by
Jerry E Smith
This is from the gig today
DSC_0005.JPG


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks


This .gif was created by @elgeko

Sort:  

Hello @jerrytsuseer, you are looking well. What do you play?

I started piano lessons at age 11, that would have been 1966
I've been playing now for 52 yrs, most of that professionally
Since I've been paid for almost all of it.
Now here in Atlanta, I do a "one man band" show for
Nursing homes, retirement and assisted living facilities.
If it weren't for buying cords, amps, keyboards and midi files
I would do it for free (not to mention gas and upkeep on my car)
Thank you for asking @farm-mom

Hey @jerrytsuseer, piano really, that is so awesome. I so wanted to be musical when I was young, tried guitar, flute, piano, my mom played, but it never stuck. So jerry you are star to me. God bless, share your music

Thank you @farm-mom, I do try to share at every chance I get.
I'm playing this Friday at a place I once played regularly, then
Something happened, some change of staff, some
misunderstanding perhaps? I stopped hearing from them.
Now after 4 yrs, I get a call from someone I never heard of
From a place named Cadence, the voice said I used to
Play there.
I asked if it went by a different name"? She said it used
To be called Elmcroft;Ding ding, the light went off.
I used to play there almost weekly.
So now I'm going back for the first time in at least
4 yrs. This Friday.

Here is a video I made in 2013 #farm-mom.
I hope you enjoy it.

Howdy sir jerry! Those must be fun gigs, or are they all fun?

They are not all fun, when you consider having pain in walking,
Especially bending over etc... but indeed, once I get set up and
Start playing, and getting responses/interactions with the
Residents, then I can more or less forget all that pain.
THEN it becomes my 'raison d'etre' and I begin to
Enjoy myself. I love it when I come up with a
Tune they haven't heard/don't remember
Yet they react positively to it. My love.

howdy today sir jerry! well you still need an assistant that can help you set up don't you? You should ask around for volunteers, it seems like someone would like that job as they get to get out of the house or where ever and it seems like a good time. I love that photo! lol.
I'll have to look up 'raison d'etre'!

Thanks @janton, it is French for "Reason for existence" (more or less)
rai·son d'ê·tre
/ˌrāzôn ˈdetrə/
noun
the most important reason or purpose for someone or something's existence.

oh, I get it! Thank you sir jerry, that's a beautiful thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99