#MusicMonday two artists / songs that rock my house!!

in #music5 years ago

Hope you love the blues, rock on rock, appreciate jazz, value folk, smile at the standards and quiver when wrapped in Indigenous Peoples' chants, flutes, drums.

Thanks to @riverflows for introducing me to #musicmonday!!

Today's contributions dig deep into my core, rock my soul. My parents opened the door to the music world and I stepped through. I'm amazed by talent, whether an alto sax, baritone vocal, tight drumbeat or silky fingers gracing the ivories. And stand up bass is simply the F'ing coolest, 'nuff said.

Jorma Kaukonen is legend in the worlds of rock (lead guitarist and vocals of Jefferson Airplane, Hot Tuna) as well as blues and folk, where his pickin' is for REAL. Guided by the Reverend Gary Davis in the art of telling a story with your fingers and the acoustic guitar.

Check out his version of "Hesitation Blues" with another rock legend, Jack Casady on bass.

Thanks to "gloppo" on Ytube!

Next is David Bromberg, another legend in my book! This man can sing, this man can pick, a troubadour par excellence. He strolls a wide musical gamut, with his "home base" seemingly in blues and folk.

Live version of "Statesboro Blues/Church Bell Blues

Thanks to "David Bromberg Quartet - Topic" on Ytube!
My favorite lyric: "she had the nerve to ask me,
would a matchbox hold my clothes."

In closing, I LOVE the fact that these men are still at it: touring and creating, or establishing camps & schools on the art of guitar playing. I saw Jorma & Jack a few years ago, both in their 70s and jumping around the stage like their 20-somethings in their primes.

Yup, the "prime years" of these musicians are decades long, and still going!

Love to all. Peace and smiles!

Sort:  

Congratulations @jimmyoblog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66