You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are streaming music services changing how you consume music?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Fuck me, I wouldn't have guessed that was Machine Head in a million years. I kinda like it though, off to go give that record a listen now...

I don't really use music streaming services, mainly just because I've built up a massive MP3 collection over the years. I wouldn't normally put this out there, but I've been one of them music pirates since the napster and audio galaxy days of the late 90s. My reasoning has always been that I can't afford the £15 for a new album all the time, and just like you had, I don't want to lay that out for an album I eventually dislike. And so, I've downloaded everything for the past 20 years nearly.

That's not to say I don't support the artists though, as I have had the premium Google Play Music service occasionally, but I am an avid CD/Vinyl collector. In fact, I'll go snap a picture of part of my collection...

I love going to gigs, went to see New Zealand band Flight of the Conchords last week in fact (amazing). I'll buy the merch, tell my friends and so on. This is even backed up by a recent article from MOTHERBOARD: https://motherboard.vice.com/en_us/article/evkmz7/study-again-shows-pirates-tend-to-be-the-biggest-buyers-of-legal-content

Oh, and then there's sites like bandcamp where you can pay artists directly for their music. I think there's some big changes still to come.

It's sad but I'm coming to the realisation that the lifestyle I want doesn't really accommodate vast collections of stuff. I really don't want to have to part with them though!

Edit: I've been listening to Ziggurats in the car today, and the sound reminded me of Bedouin Soundclash. Just wondering if that's a band you've heard of?

Sort:  

Just wasnt my jam - it seemed a bit all over the place! I had a collection of a similar size to you and moved it from place to place and used them less and less and so decided one day (sadly) to part with them all. Kind of regret it but not really lol. Spoto=ify is fine for me at the moment especially while travelling.

Flight of the Conchords are brilliant - Im jelous actually becuase its one band I havent seen live before! Have you watched there tv show? they have a few seasons its pretty funny!

I havent listened to Bebouin Soundclash but will add it to my playlist ! Cheers mate!

I know what you mean, it wasn't exactly consistent.

Yeah, I've been thinking about it, I don't use them all that often, but I do really like having them there. I get very attached sometimes.

I didn't think we'd ever actually see them, but @calluna saw they were touring the UK this year on Facebook and got on it. I absolutely love the TV show, in fact their support act was Eugene Mirman who was the landlord Dave I think in the series.

I think you'll like them, I'm sure you'll have heard the one song "When the Night Feels My Soul".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99