# Metal Weekend!!

in #music6 years ago

I have seen this hashtag, #metalweekend, in my feed for a few weeks now thanks to @detlev. It is a great subject that is garnering lots of response from the Steemit community. Each weekend he has been selecting a sampling of songs to showcase and asking for input from the other Steemit users.

The input has been awesome as lots of people are posting music and songs that cover the spectrum of the rock / metal genre. Lots of great bands I know and love but also lots of new music to discover.

I myself listen to a wide range of music from multiple genres but my heart lies in rock / metal music, probably really close to the far end of the heavier side though.... The posts I read today linking together on the subject made me think, I wonder how many people on Steemit like the heavier side of metal?

To answer this question I am posting 3 songs from 1 of my favorite bands, Opeth.

This band is a little lighter when it comes to the heavy scale but they put out such good riffs and mix multiple sounds over each song which is an average of 10 minutes long! The vocals range from the low growl of the typical death metal sound to completely clear singing vocals all from the same lead singer.

This first song is Bleak. The difference in vocals is very on display here

This song is probably the most famous song from the band. It is called Blackwater Park and is off the Album of the same name.

This last song is one of the heavier songs from the band. It is called Master's Apprentices.

Let me know what you think in the comments. If you are a fan, or if you are just hearing these songs for the first time, or if it absolutely not your kind of music. I welcome all comments and conversation!! I am really curious to see how many people are into the heavier metal side of things here on Steemit.

Like @detlev says:

but remember.......

                                            PLAT IT LOUD!!!
Sort:  

All the different kinds of metal - it is so easy

I LOVE THEM ALL

enjoy #MetalWeekend even with some different metal

I hate this kind, you can’t hear them at all. I love the beat and music, but they vocals are terrible. Also the lead in takes for ever.
I have a very wide taste in music. Classical, blue grass, rap, pop, metal, and the miscellaneous uncategorized.
But music that is nothing but screaming words as loud as you can over the music being played is not my forte.
Same with those who copy others in rap, or repeat over and over the same damn thing.
Anyways that’s my input 😊

The vocals do turn lots of people off of the heavier style of metal. When I first started moving further and further into the faster / heavier metal I did not understand the lyrics but the music had me absolutely hooked. Over time (it takes a while) I started to be able to hear the lyrics clearer and clearer LOL. When I have any of this music on in the truck with my wife I have to act as a translator for her.

Thanks so much for the reply! I want to see how many people out here do like the heavier stuff.

=)

I agree and am a way bigger fan of the earlier albums opposed to the latest ones!!

Do you have a certain album or albums you liked better?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69