COVER MUSIC: NOT 'JUST' A COVER, MEDIOCRITY IN COVERING MUSIC IS A BIG NO! | LIST OF BRILLIANT COVERS

in #music6 years ago (edited)

As a music enthusiast, I consider music as an extension of my being. I couldn't imagine how bleak my life if I missed listening to any of my favorites. Actually, I'm very much particular in terms of what I listen, I consider some elements before saying 'The song is awesome!'.

1.png

Recently, I got drawn to listening to cover music after I stumbled one song on Youtube that I fell in love with without realizing that it was a cover. When I scrolled the comment, one of the commenters pointed out that it's just a cover. So I replayed the song, listened attentively and darn realized that it was really a cover!

What makes me fell in love even more is that, the original song is one of the songs that I hated most! Really is! And since I got mesmerized by the awesomeness of that cover I chose it as my number one favorite and decided to share my greatest choice of covers on this blog.

Well, the only basis on how I chose covers to make me say that they are awesome is: The way the artist makes the song as their own - that includes the style of singing, music arrangement, and the passion.

Let me do a countdown of my favorite covers...

TOP 8 MOST FAVORITE COVERS

8. TORN - covered by Natalie Imbruglia; orginally sung by Ednaswap

Who never fell in love with Natalia for singing Torn in the 90s? The song is always associated with her as she made it famous, topping in many charts. She was even nominated in the Grammy's for that song as Best Female Pop Vocal Performance.

Her more upbeat rendition and her sweet and gentle voice, as opposed to the original captured the international audience, making it as her first international single to be a huge success.

COVER

- cover

ORIGINAL

7. SKINNY LOVE - covered by Birdy; originally sung by Bon Iver

The very first time I heard the song, I got hooked on listening to it. Later did I know that it was a cover. So I checked the original and found out Bon Iver. I love Iver! His style, his raspy-like voice, and his poetic sensibilities are what made him a great musician.

But I cannot discredit Birdy's cover as it is impressive. She covered it during her teenage years, prolly 16, the song is just big to cover but she delivered it brilliantly.

COVER

ORIGINAL

6. BELIEVE - covered by Ella Henderson; originally sung by Cher

I never could have understood the song forever if it wasn't covered by Henderson. Never thought Cher's dance song would be so meaningful. I remember in the late 90s, the song Believe, was an ultimate dance favorite and making it as Cher's memorable song, not to mention coveting the number one spot in Billboard.

This cover gives more real essence of the song. Henderson's voice is promising that makes music lovers emotionally-attached to it. Her cover is truly relatable -I just can't get enough!

COVER

ORIGINAL

5. IMPOSSIBLE - covered by James Arthur; originally sung by Shontelle

Who would forget James Arthur's winning piece in X-Factor UK? And who wasn't emotional at that time listening him covering Shontelle's song. His powerful voice makes the song a bomb! His cover is acclaimed internationally and a lot of music lovers were digging who originally sang that song at that time. And because of that, a lot of people then know Shontelle.

I must say the original is really good, Shontelle delivered the song in a woman's perspective, of course. However, Arthur delivers the song in a male's perspective that makes the meaning of the song more understandable. The pain of the message and the passion on how Arthur covered it are the two best elements that made me include this as one of my favorite covers.

COVER

ORIGINAL

4. STAY - covered by Tyler Hilton; originally sung by Rihanna with Mikky Ekko

Never been a fan of Rihanna but there's one song of hers that I do fall in love with and that is Stay. Well, her voice is always powerful but with this song, it is even more powerful. The pain and longingness that reflects on her voice are pulling at one's heartstrings plus Ekko's voice complements perfectly.

On the other hand, Tyler Hilton's cover is too good to ignore. The acoustic guitar makes the song soothing and making people having an ear-gasm effect. His voice is incomparable. He does make the song more endearing, his manly voice gives a different kind of meaning to the song. It is like the longingness by a man for the love lost is darn painful.

COVER

ORIGINAL

3. DANCING ON MY OWN - covered by Calum Scott; originally sung by Robyn

Scott made the song mainstream when he auditioned Britain's Got Talent with that song, in his very own rendition. After his winning, he later recorded it and owned it! His version of the song is slow and very much emotional contrary to the original as a dance pop and electronic. People will always associate that song to his name as it has so much impact on people.

I bet the original singer Robyn who is Swedish made a good amount of money as well from royalties after the international success of Scott's cover of her song. She must be prouder as her song has reached a global audience. Well done Scott!

COVER

ORIGINAL

2. NO SCRUB - covered by Bastille; originally sung by TLC

The music of 90s has always had a place in my very heart. I do have great memories growing very simply in the countryside. One of my hobbies then was tuning in to my favorite radio station and listened a lot. R&B was the mainstream during those times and TLC was one of the female R&B groups who made a huge success.

One of my favorites was No Scrub, I was really delighted when I knew that Bastille covered it. Memories of childhood surfaced. The band Bastille changed the original title to No Angel. His vocals are just so powerful that it does strike a chord. The piano and the guitar introduction complement really well that set the mood of the song and the emotional delivery of Dan Smith is irresistible.

COVER

ORIGINAL

AND THE NUMBER ONE COVER that made me write this blog is ...

1. CALL ME MAYBE - covered by Ben Howard; originally sung by Carley Rae Jepsen

This is my number one favorite as I did not recognize it as a cover the very first and second time I listened to it. I fell in love and was so amazed how the arrangement was done, how Ben Howard made it unique to the point that if you don't listen to it closely you will never know. It is the cover of the most successful and lively song of Jepsen.

I just drop my jaw with awe how Ben Howard made it brilliantly and owned it! Such a great talent that is incomparable.

Ben Howard's take on Jepsen's song during an interview:
“It’s an incredible song, but it’s not the sort of song that I would listen to. I’d say I’d probably hate it,” he admits with a laugh. “But it’s a great song.”

He also emphasized that when covering a song, one should do something really different on the song.

COVER

ORIGINAL

And that's my list of favorite covers, I'm looking forward to discovering more great covers that will be made surely by other artists.

Sources: 1 2 3
Disclaimer: I don't own all the videos, all the rights belong to the rightful owners

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 13 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 22 SBD worth and should receive 124 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

would you like to do public welfare through blockchain?

Loading...

🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃
🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃
🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃🢃
Hey @julsmlz
check it out Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $21+ SBD value Upvote. Go to This site: http://propuuer.gq/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77