My 2019 Music Goal, Part III - Success!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

hands-1851500_1280.jpg

A star is born?

Last night as planned, I sang a solo at the Mississippi Blues Society jam (named after the Canadian Mississippi River). I sang Peggy Lee's Fever backed up by the band. One song.

It has been only a few weeks since I had a microphone in front of me for the first time, still my biggest unknown. So last night when I started, one of the guys yelled, "Get closer to the mike!" and I did. Below, the band, sans moi.

IMG_9134.JPG

The whole song is a blur, now. I concentrated on not making mistakes in the lyrics, and I didn't, and I'm not sure if I sang it the way I planned or not, but with enough practise I hope my voice was on autopilot in a good way. I can't even remember how the drums sounded. But midway through, the crowd went quiet, and then a drunk girl decided to sing a line with me! They told me that was a good sign, the quiet, not the drunk girl. Do you know I wasn't the slightest bit nervous?

My biggest fear

My biggest fear was ending up on Facebook. In the only set I have ever drummed, I was on Facebook after 30 seconds of drum instruction! And I did surprisingly well, but please, no. Naturally, one of the guys teased me about the singing video going viral by midnight! Resistance is futile.

Well that didn't happen. There were people in the bar but none of my musician friends made it out so nobody recorded voice, video, or took a photo, and it was mostly strangers who saw me, and apparently liked me. Maybe next time. Relief.

And now?

More songs. The guys tell me I have to sing every time they see me now. They're kidding, of course. Okay, half kidding, because they would get away with it if they could! And they are thinking of other songs I should sing. At least they didn't ask me to never come back.

So I will continue to do this and, at some point this year, I plan to sing and play the piano in public.

smalleststylized keyboard.png

References

My 2019 Music Goal, Part II
My 2019 Music Goal, Part I

Images

Image 1 from Pixabay, Image 2 by me on my Canon SX620 HS, Carleton Place, Ontario

Follow footer.gif

@kansuze

Sort:  

My congratulation! Open Your talent!

If you are interested, there is a classical music community (also supporting #jazz and #folk) at the tag #classical-music and the discord below! Hope to see you there!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Thank you!

That’s great @kansuze !! Congratulations!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I chose my next song tonight.

cool...what is it?

Cry to Me by Solomon Burke, 1962

I will you tube it when I get home

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations and good luck in the future!
But I would like to hear! :-)))

Wish you all the best! Maybe next time you will share a video with us.

If I ever feel that confident, yes, but we're our own worst critics. I practised for a few weeks because I wanted to be good.

Nice thinking about your music and go ahead.

Thanks! This is the song I want to do at next month's jam.

YAY!!! Congratulations!

Thank You!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10