8 days a week | A sweet docu about the Beatles

in #music3 years ago

Everyone has had their share of too much TV and Netflix over the last couple of months. At least I am totally fed up with it and was on the hunt to see somethnig nice, if I was going to watch anything anymore.

I love watching music documentaries because they can be so insightful around the process how a song was written or how a band has evolved over the years.

I found this gem called '8 days a week' which was particular about the beginning days on how the Beatles had started. I liked it!



Bol.com


Now I grew up with listening to the Beatles a lot with I guess as a highlight the remix from 'the Stars of 45' who remixed a many Beatles song into one big mix of an hour. When I think about the visuals from the Beatles, I think about crappy visuals and these guys in total stoner modus when they made their absolute best album 'St Peppers lonely heart club band'. A fantastic album but musicwise this all went a lot more broad than the stuff before.





The '8 days a week' documentary takes us back to the times before this. These are the times from the Beatles which I am just no familiar with and what was really to learn more about. These guys started in Liverpool in just very small venues and you could see the frienship in how they were preforming and working the grind.

Here these guys were young and motivated and the docu shows really well on how they even conquered the US the first time and Beatlemania was all over. I knew this was in Europe, but I had no idea that it was a big deal if they would do the same in the US as well. At that time this was also when segregation was the biggest topic and you also see how in this time the Beatles were taking a stand saying that their music was for everyone.




theguardian.com


Watching this documentary made me realize again how many cool songs they made and how much I am more of a Beatles person than a Stones person (hehehe this was always a battle I know).

I am glad in this documentary it is not too magnified in how the Beatles eventually ended their game, because that is just how life goes and within the pace that they were preforming that was surely not sustainable to do for a long time. But the majority of the time is about how it all started and how much fun they were just having.

'8 days a week' was a very refreshing documentary that I would surely recommend when you have a change to see it somewhere and it will make you want to listen all Beatles albums again instantly. Also the quality of the videos has really been pimped up which makes it a lot better to watch than the original versions. Image quality is not a thing in this one. Go watch it !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66